Crossing your own path in stadium - The Horse Forum

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 06-07-2013, 04:16 PM Thread Starter
Trained
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 8,157
• Horses: 0
Crossing your own path in stadium

I was reading about this on another forum and was not even aware it is a rule. Perhaps it is not an eventing rule, but a jumper thing. I don't have my rule book handy. Anyway, it involved being disqualified in stadium for crossing your own path. Say you have a refusal and then circle back around for another pass over your same path, that is considered crossing your own path and you're done? If that is the case, how in the world do you approach the same fence a second time without traveling in the same line? Can anyone elaborate on this rule? I don't quite understand it.

You just have to see your distance...you don't have to like it.
MyBoyPuck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 06-09-2013, 11:48 PM
Weanling
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 363
• Horses: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyBoyPuck View Post
I was reading about this on another forum and was not even aware it is a rule. Perhaps it is not an eventing rule, but a jumper thing. I don't have my rule book handy. Anyway, it involved being disqualified in stadium for crossing your own path. Say you have a refusal and then circle back around for another pass over your same path, that is considered crossing your own path and you're done? If that is the case, how in the world do you approach the same fence a second time without traveling in the same line? Can anyone elaborate on this rule? I don't quite understand it.

In Aus, crossing your tracks in front of a jump is a refusal... Page 77 Section 552 Faults at Obstacles Diagram 552.1
http://www.wa.equestrian.org.au/site...ng%20Rules.pdf

And in the USEF rule book, it's on page 55. http://useventing.com/sites/default/..._Book_2013.pdf
I had a quick look through it... looks to be in the section covering disobedience, run outs, course deviations etc... From what I could see it seems to be classed and penalised the same as in Aus... so no elimination, just penalties until the third one (unless you are in *, **, *** or ****).

Hope it helps.
NaeNae87 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 06-10-2013, 12:12 AM
Green Broke
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 2,610
• Horses: 1
Become intimately familiar with this
http://www.usef.org/documents/ruleBook/2013/18-JP.pdf

I believe that would just count as a disobediance, and be four faults, but I may be wrong.
Posted via Mobile Device
cakemom is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 06-10-2013, 04:13 PM
Foal
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Alberta
Posts: 247
• Horses: 1
Not sure about the states, but it's 2 separate things in Canada. A refusal is 4 faults, and then it doesn't matter how you represent. If you have an "issue" during your course, on landing, or between fences, where you need to circle and therefore cross your path, it's 4 faults for that. I've actually had this happen to me twice over the years. Both times my horse jumped me clean out of the tack and I managed to not fall off just by the skin of my teeth! And then I had to circle to reestablish the canter, taking the 4 faults, and carried on.

A girl, a horse, and a helmet cam!! Eventing It Up In The Great White North!!
http://www.youtube.com/albertaeventer
albertaeventer is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 06-12-2013, 10:46 AM
Trained
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 5,695
• Horses: 3
yep its four faults if you cross your path !

Gypsy & Scout <3
Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid. ~Albert Einstein
gypsygirl is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 06-12-2013, 06:24 PM Thread Starter
Trained
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 8,157
• Horses: 0
I'm still confused. What exactly would constitute crossing your own path? If your horse runs out and your re-approach, did you cross your own path circling?

You just have to see your distance...you don't have to like it.
MyBoyPuck is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 06-12-2013, 09:01 PM
Yearling
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 977
• Horses: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyBoyPuck View Post
I'm still confused. What exactly would constitute crossing your own path? If your horse runs out and your re-approach, did you cross your own path circling?
Crossing your own path on re-approach after a refusal usually means you made an additional circle. If your horse stops at a fence, turn one direction (for this example, right) and approach the fence on the right lead. If you were to add an additional circle to get your canter going or whatever reason, that would be crossing your own path and would be considered a refusal and an additional 4 faults. If you were just to come around on your right lead (in this example) and jumped the fence, you would not incur an additional 4 faults.
updownrider is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 06-12-2013, 09:05 PM Thread Starter
Trained
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 8,157
• Horses: 0
Ahhh, so it would be like the bonehead thing I did at my first ever show. I realized I blew a turn and attempted to circle before going to the fence. They blew the whistle and said it was my 3 refusal because I already had 2 stops. Got it now. Thanks for explaining that.

You just have to see your distance...you don't have to like it.
MyBoyPuck is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 06-12-2013, 09:11 PM
Yearling
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 977
• Horses: 0
When it was first explained to me, if I was ever confused, I was told I should take the path that does not turn my back on a jump. I've been thinking of that since you first posted this thread and wondering if it actually applies. But I am so directionally challenged I am not sure!

Last edited by updownrider; 06-12-2013 at 09:16 PM.
updownrider is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 06-13-2013, 03:08 PM
Trained
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 5,695
• Horses: 3
now you know if you blow past your turn you just have to do a creative zig zag back with out crossing your path =]

Gypsy & Scout <3
Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid. ~Albert Einstein
gypsygirl is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The Horse Forum forums, you must first register.

Already have a Horse Forum account?
Members are allowed only one account per person at the Horse Forum, so if you've made an account here in the past you'll need to continue using that account. Please do not create a new account or you may lose access to the Horse Forum. If you need help recovering your existing account, please Contact Us. We'll be glad to help!

New to the Horse Forum?
Please choose a username you will be satisfied with using for the duration of your membership at the Horse Forum. We do not change members' usernames upon request because that would make it difficult for everyone to keep track of who is who on the forum. For that reason, please do not incorporate your horse's name into your username so that you are not stuck with a username related to a horse you may no longer have some day, or use any other username you may no longer identify with or care for in the future.



User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Old Thread Warning
This thread is more than 90 days old. When a thread is this old, it is often better to start a new thread rather than post to it. However, If you feel you have something of value to add to this particular thread, you can do so by checking the box below before submitting your post.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Olympic Dressage/Stadium Jumping Jalter English Riding 19 02-26-2013 03:45 AM
novice stadium round gypsygirl Jumping 15 08-10-2012 09:04 PM
Stadium my2geldings Horse Pictures 4 06-10-2011 08:58 AM
How's my stadium? wafflestheunicorn Eventing 3 02-23-2011 09:32 PM
CC Pessoa Rodrigo Stadium size 17.5 kitten_Val Tack and Equipment Classifieds 7 08-04-2010 01:11 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome