Crossing your own path in stadium
   

       The Horse Forum > Riding Horses > English Riding > Eventing

Crossing your own path in stadium

This is a discussion on Crossing your own path in stadium within the Eventing forums, part of the English Riding category
  • What is crossing your tracks in eventing
  • In horse jumping do you get a fault for crossing path

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
    06-07-2013, 04:16 PM
  #1
Trained
Crossing your own path in stadium

I was reading about this on another forum and was not even aware it is a rule. Perhaps it is not an eventing rule, but a jumper thing. I don't have my rule book handy. Anyway, it involved being disqualified in stadium for crossing your own path. Say you have a refusal and then circle back around for another pass over your same path, that is considered crossing your own path and you're done? If that is the case, how in the world do you approach the same fence a second time without traveling in the same line? Can anyone elaborate on this rule? I don't quite understand it.
     
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
    06-09-2013, 11:48 PM
  #2
Weanling
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyBoyPuck    
I was reading about this on another forum and was not even aware it is a rule. Perhaps it is not an eventing rule, but a jumper thing. I don't have my rule book handy. Anyway, it involved being disqualified in stadium for crossing your own path. Say you have a refusal and then circle back around for another pass over your same path, that is considered crossing your own path and you're done? If that is the case, how in the world do you approach the same fence a second time without traveling in the same line? Can anyone elaborate on this rule? I don't quite understand it.

In Aus, crossing your tracks in front of a jump is a refusal... Page 77 Section 552 Faults at Obstacles Diagram 552.1
http://www.wa.equestrian.org.au/site...ng%20Rules.pdf

And in the USEF rule book, it's on page 55. http://useventing.com/sites/default/..._Book_2013.pdf
I had a quick look through it... looks to be in the section covering disobedience, run outs, course deviations etc... From what I could see it seems to be classed and penalised the same as in Aus... so no elimination, just penalties until the third one (unless you are in *, **, *** or ****).

Hope it helps.
     
    06-10-2013, 12:12 AM
  #3
Green Broke
Become intimately familiar with this
http://www.usef.org/documents/ruleBook/2013/18-JP.pdf

I believe that would just count as a disobediance, and be four faults, but I may be wrong.
Posted via Mobile Device
     
    06-10-2013, 04:13 PM
  #4
Foal
Not sure about the states, but it's 2 separate things in Canada. A refusal is 4 faults, and then it doesn't matter how you represent. If you have an "issue" during your course, on landing, or between fences, where you need to circle and therefore cross your path, it's 4 faults for that. I've actually had this happen to me twice over the years. Both times my horse jumped me clean out of the tack and I managed to not fall off just by the skin of my teeth! And then I had to circle to reestablish the canter, taking the 4 faults, and carried on.
     
    06-12-2013, 10:46 AM
  #5
Trained
Yep its four faults if you cross your path !
     
    06-12-2013, 06:24 PM
  #6
Trained
I'm still confused. What exactly would constitute crossing your own path? If your horse runs out and your re-approach, did you cross your own path circling?
     
    06-12-2013, 09:01 PM
  #7
Weanling
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyBoyPuck    
I'm still confused. What exactly would constitute crossing your own path? If your horse runs out and your re-approach, did you cross your own path circling?
Crossing your own path on re-approach after a refusal usually means you made an additional circle. If your horse stops at a fence, turn one direction (for this example, right) and approach the fence on the right lead. If you were to add an additional circle to get your canter going or whatever reason, that would be crossing your own path and would be considered a refusal and an additional 4 faults. If you were just to come around on your right lead (in this example) and jumped the fence, you would not incur an additional 4 faults.
     
    06-12-2013, 09:05 PM
  #8
Trained
Ahhh, so it would be like the bonehead thing I did at my first ever show. I realized I blew a turn and attempted to circle before going to the fence. They blew the whistle and said it was my 3 refusal because I already had 2 stops. Got it now. Thanks for explaining that.
     
    06-12-2013, 09:11 PM
  #9
Weanling
When it was first explained to me, if I was ever confused, I was told I should take the path that does not turn my back on a jump. I've been thinking of that since you first posted this thread and wondering if it actually applies. But I am so directionally challenged I am not sure!
     
    06-13-2013, 03:08 PM
  #10
Trained
Now you know if you blow past your turn you just have to do a creative zig zag back with out crossing your path =]
     

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Olympic Dressage/Stadium Jumping Jalter English Riding 19 02-26-2013 03:45 AM
novice stadium round gypsygirl Jumping 15 08-10-2012 09:04 PM
Stadium My2Geldings Horse Pictures 4 06-10-2011 08:58 AM
How's my stadium? wafflestheunicorn Eventing 3 02-23-2011 09:32 PM
CC Pessoa Rodrigo Stadium size 17.5 kitten_Val Tack and Equipment Classifieds 7 08-04-2010 01:11 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0