Internet in rural areas - The Horse Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 33 Old 01-30-2009, 11:38 PM Thread Starter
Started
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,917
• Horses: 1
Internet in rural areas

Does anyone have any ideas about how to get internet in the country? We're looking at a lovely place in the country we'd love to purchase. How do you get high speed, non-satellite, non-wireless internet in rural areas?

Are you absolutely sure you wanna mess with my carrots?
Joshie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 33 Old 01-31-2009, 12:02 AM
Yearling
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 855
• Horses: 0
Well some are already set up, my house in waco was about 8 miles away from any close to main road. The highspeed internet equipment stops about a mile away it is depressing. BUt for when I'm there I went through my phone carrier to have a USB high speed internet. IT just plugs in and there you go, as long as you have a phone signal.

Whatever course you decide upon, there is always someone to tell you that you are wrong. There are always difficulties arising which tempt you to believe that your critics are right. To map out a course of action and follow it to an end requires courage.
shmurmer4 is offline  
post #3 of 33 Old 01-31-2009, 08:35 AM
Weanling
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: foothills of Virginia
Posts: 487
• Horses: 3
Yeah, I have an 'air card' that attaches to my laptop and I can get internet anywere I can get bars (which I am so far out THAT can be a problem sometimes) myself. It was that or satellite....

Know thyself, know thy horse.
DarkChylde is offline  
post #4 of 33 Old 01-31-2009, 08:37 AM
Trained
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Orange County, NC
Posts: 6,207
• Horses: 5
It's been the biggest problem for us with finding a nice country farm since I work from home. The best way I've found is high speed broadband from the cell phone companies, IF there is a tower supporting high speed data close enough. If you have a GPS and get the longitude/latitude of the place(s) you are looking at, the cell companies can tell you if you can get a signal at that location.

On the sixth day, God created the Quarter Horse.
On the seventh day, he Painted the good ones.
PaintHorseMares is offline  
post #5 of 33 Old 01-31-2009, 08:45 AM
Showing
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greenville area / SC
Posts: 13,165
• Horses: 3
There is a commercial on TV that offers high speed internet via a small dish similar to Direct TV or Dish Network. I can't remember the name off hand but I see the commercial all the time and I'll get it to you. They claim to be able to get you coverage no matter where you are.

Aside from that, I get mine through my telephone provider. I'm looking into wireless cards for my computer too but, in my case that is only good for traveling since we have 3 computers and a wireless printer in the house.

The only two options I can think of that is non-wireless or non-satellite would be cable or telephone and that is up to your local region.

Why not satellite?

I'm not arguing with you, I'm just explaining why I'm right.

Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong.


It's not always what you say but what they hear.

Last edited by iridehorses; 01-31-2009 at 08:50 AM.
iridehorses is offline  
post #6 of 33 Old 01-31-2009, 09:26 AM
Showing
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,210
• Horses: 2
You can but you need to verify that with your local carriers first. I lived at the top of a hill in our last house but a house just up the road had a full sized 30f antenna for the web which took the juice out of every other house in that immediate area, us included. You can sometimes get away with a simple antenna (which costs around 1,200) to get but that might not enough. Depending on the area you are in some companies wont even come install anything because there is nothing set or your area so unless you have $30,000-50,000 to spend to get everything set up from the town to your house, you are out of luck (again a problem we ran into).

One of the main reasons we moved to our new house is because of the bad wireless connection we had.
my2geldings is offline  
post #7 of 33 Old 01-31-2009, 09:37 AM
Trained
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hatton Vale, QLD, Australia
Posts: 5,227
• Horses: 7
this is a good topic. my husband and i are moving from the city to the country next weekend and we cant get broadband, cable or anything other than dial up where we are going. im originally from the country but have spent the broadband/cable years in the city so this is a new ball game for me.

so far we have found (but this is in australia) that there are some companies that provide cable there but the cost is usually much higher than in the city.

we have been told so far that wireless is the way to go but even then some places are just too far out of range and unfortunately our place is. looks like dial up is the way to go for us which is a total bummer.

ring around though. you just never know. we are going somewhere very remote. i guess it depends on just how far out you are going

"I whisper but my horse doesnt listen...So I yell!!...He still doesnt listen"



Last edited by jazzyrider; 01-31-2009 at 09:39 AM.
jazzyrider is offline  
post #8 of 33 Old 01-31-2009, 09:51 AM
Yearling
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Wales
Posts: 1,128
• Horses: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by CacheDawnTaxes View Post
a house just up the road had a full sized 30f antenna for the web which took the juice out of every other house in that immediate area, us included.
What do you mean by 'took the juice out of every other house in that immediate area'? In the case of something being transmitted and then picked up by an antenna or dish, one can't suck away the transmission from other antennae unless you're directly blocking the line of sight from the transmitter.

If you believe everything you read, better not read.
Japanese Proverb
claireauriga is offline  
post #9 of 33 Old 01-31-2009, 09:56 AM
Yearling
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 1,346
• Horses: 0
Claire to the rescue! . We missed you Claire!

Well he must have been downloading the stuff from Stallite and as far as taking the juice out is concern I agree with Claire, unless it has so strong strength that other's signal is squeezed, it is nearly impossible to take everyone's internet.

Oh and if he was the ISP then he has the control over all of your internet

Regards

2 -Jehanzeb- 2

If something's HARD to do, then its NOT worth doing!
Jehanzeb is offline  
post #10 of 33 Old 01-31-2009, 10:51 AM
Yearling
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Wales
Posts: 1,128
• Horses: 0
Well, I always like to correct scientific misconceptions.

Many things are transmitted over the electromagnetic spectrum. This ranges from radio waves (TV, radio, home wireless networking, satellite links), microwaves (cooking and mobile phones), infrared (remote controls, heating), visible light (what we can see), ultraviolet (tanning), x-rays (medical imaging) to gamma rays (emitted by some radioactive isotopes, used to sterilise food).

Basically, the transmitter is a big long strip of metal, and electricity races up and down it to produce the radio wave (or microwave, for mobile phone masts). This radio wave spreads outwards from the mast in all directions. When your receiver (antenna, dish, etc) gets in the way, the radio wave induces an electrical current in the antenna, thereby creating the signal for your TV, radio or computer.

The radio waves aren't actually broadcast direct to you, in the way that, say, your phone line is directly connected to your house. They're broadcast out to everyone, only they're encoded so only people authorised to use them can. So no one can siphon off your share unless they're directly, physically blocking the way.

If you believe everything you read, better not read.
Japanese Proverb
claireauriga is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The Horse Forum forums, you must first register.

Already have a Horse Forum account?
Members are allowed only one account per person at the Horse Forum, so if you've made an account here in the past you'll need to continue using that account. Please do not create a new account or you may lose access to the Horse Forum. If you need help recovering your existing account, please Contact Us. We'll be glad to help!

New to the Horse Forum?
Please choose a username you will be satisfied with using for the duration of your membership at the Horse Forum. We do not change members' usernames upon request because that would make it difficult for everyone to keep track of who is who on the forum. For that reason, please do not incorporate your horse's name into your username so that you are not stuck with a username related to a horse you may no longer have some day, or use any other username you may no longer identify with or care for in the future.



User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Old Thread Warning
This thread is more than 90 days old. When a thread is this old, it is often better to start a new thread rather than post to it. However, If you feel you have something of value to add to this particular thread, you can do so by checking the box below before submitting your post.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody from Oklahoma/North Texas, or Cleveland, OH areas? NoFear526 Meet the Community 5 10-17-2008 11:47 PM
Mare Cleaning [sensative areas] help! HorsesAreForever Horse Grooming 22 04-16-2008 02:38 PM
Hi from Rural Ontario NorthernMama Meet the Community 9 03-16-2008 09:48 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome