Looking for "perfect" boarding situation in Georgia
 
 

       The Horse Forum > Barns, Boarding, and Farms > Horse Boarding

Looking for "perfect" boarding situation in Georgia

This is a discussion on Looking for "perfect" boarding situation in Georgia within the Horse Boarding forums, part of the Barns, Boarding, and Farms category
  • "barn help" alpharetta -local
  • "barn help" alpharetta milton

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
    08-05-2012, 03:50 PM
  #1
Foal
Smile Looking for "perfect" boarding situation in Georgia

I have one 15 y/o "grade" mare. She has been through alot. I volunteer @ a rescue Impound & adopted her in April at 580 lbs. She has been being kept at a barn just down the street from our own "mini" farm. We work 10-12 hrs./day 5 days a week so do not want to keep her at home. The only reason I am looking for a different facility to keep her is that she needs more outside time or at least a large window to look out. She loves eating grass & being out. At her present barn she is only out at night for maybe 5 hrs. & that's only if there is not the slightest chance of inclement weather. The BO's will not let any horses out if there is the slightest chance of rain unless your horse is pasture boarded only. The pastures are in sad condition. Her present turn out area is only about 1/4 acre & is shared with a gelding that only goes out in the daytime for about 4 hrs. It is never mucked so has alot of manure in it and smells badly. The BO's and barn help are very accomadating. They try very hard to keep boarders happy. With that said my idea of the "perfect" arrangement would be 1.) mostly pature turnout with a run-in shed or going up @ night only, 2.) being able to provide my own feed and/or hay, 3.) mucking stalls by staff at least twice/day along with cleaning out water buckets/troughs and feed bins once/day, 4.) trails to ride on, 5.) adults only, 6.) staff that is willing to feed my horse's grain mixed with water to an oatmeal consistency making sure her rocks are in her feed bin (she has had 2 choke episodes), 6.) boarding fee of no more than $450.00/month, 7.) close to Alpharetta/Roswel/Woodstock/Canton. In short I'd really like a private barn with a little extra room for one more horse. I would do alot of the work for her every night after I get off. I am 58yrs old and an RN. Thanks
     
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
    08-20-2012, 09:09 AM
  #2
Foal
I wish we were closer, I live on the south side of Atlanta. I have two horses of my own who are on pasture 24/7 and I would love to help you out. I hope you found a place for your girl!
     

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0