what do you think of this horse - Page 2 - The Horse Forum
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 40 Old 02-16-2014, 05:36 PM
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Missouri
Posts: 435
• Horses: 1
@ OP he is cute! but not broke......... they say he is started? id go and offer 200 because if you say 150 they are going to quickly say umm no. so i would be like i can pick up horses that are registered and broke for 400 any day of the week, but he is neither broke or registered so i think hes only half that so how about you and i meet in the middle at 200? and if they want to negotiate, let them ... but i wouldnt go over 300.
KigerQueen likes this.
3ringburner is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #12 of 40 Old 02-16-2014, 07:50 PM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: california
Posts: 5,559
• Horses: 0
not a good photo for a critique. how old is it ? it cannot be registered quarter horse.
stevenson is offline  
post #13 of 40 Old 02-18-2014, 07:40 PM
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 177
• Horses: 0
well they are asking $400 because he is awfully pretty and of course...people love a pally. His head is adorable. I know it's not a confo but he's moving pretty nice and I can say I like the look of his neck, throatlatch and he just looks pretty solid all around. He look very young and not even all filled out. I will tell you with my arab/QH that is 20, he is a HANDFUL at 20. I often say he would have done me in if I had him when he was a youngster! The quarabs are an amazing breed, I love, love them but would I want to start a three or four year old (yes, I am guessing here but that's my guess on age) probably not. This one looks like he's pretty frisky so if you're up for a really spirited horse that won't slow down for two or three decades (possibly, I know these are all HUGE assumptions and speculation!), go see him!
KigerQueen likes this.
Chopsticks is offline  
post #14 of 40 Old 02-18-2014, 10:33 PM
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 161
• Horses: 0
When I first thought when I saw the ad was this is a photo off a magazine. Did anyone else feel that way? I thought the ad was vague and at first I thought it was a scam. Did you go see the horse? Cute looking! I would love to see conformation and video. ;)
Posted via Mobile Device
Amba1027 likes this.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder
shesocalifornia is offline  
post #15 of 40 Old 03-02-2014, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 10
• Horses: 0
I found out a little more on this boy first another photo... http://www.dankaearabians.com/DSC_0012.JPG
He is 4 years old and was originally for sale in Nevada by Danke Arabians. They have him listed for sale at 3k. His sire is Sir Charles Raleigh, an AQHA stallion, dam is FSMystery, a purebred Russian bred Arabian mare.
Planning on seeing him this week. I did email the Nevada breeder to try to find out more about him I would like to know how he ended up in NM and why the price is so different
dixon is offline  
post #16 of 40 Old 03-02-2014, 08:29 PM
Green Broke
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,045
• Horses: 0
Boy are his heels DEEP in that last photo.

There is something about the outside of a horse that is good for the inside of a man. ~Winston Churchill
(or woman!!!! ) Dinosaur Horse Trainer
Elana is offline  
post #17 of 40 Old 03-02-2014, 09:29 PM
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 5,698
• Horses: 0
Boy, I LOVE the smile on his face!!! His back looks really long, his feet look High/low, desperately need trimming, and his neck is strange, but I LOVE his face.

greentree is offline  
post #18 of 40 Old 03-02-2014, 09:36 PM
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Western Texas
Posts: 358
• Horses: 1
he is a cutie. you should definitely find out the reason of the price difference. let us know how it went seeing him!
ILoveMyThoroughbredSmokey is offline  
post #19 of 40 Old 03-04-2014, 12:49 PM
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New England
Posts: 10,691
• Horses: 3
This photo is much better. Still not great for critique but you can at least see him. He looks cared for and aside from the junk in the background it's a nice pic.

The other pics are awful. Horse has lost a decent amount of condition/weight and goes from looking like a decent horse at a decent price to some backyard rescue... Something happened.

He is cute. He likes to run. (Could come in handy in endurance lol) He looks small and not as stocky as I'd expect for ArabXQH. Registered for what 1/2 Arab? It doesn't even say he is just said could be (why wasn't he registered back when he was worth 3k?)

I think he's adorable but be practical. It flat out says he is unbroken and no pictures to show how friendly and easy to break he'll be lol. Not actually registered, and something very fishy is going on. I think he's worth going to look at but I'd think of him as a rescue. Get some good confo pics when you go and repost!
Yogiwick is offline  
post #20 of 40 Old 03-04-2014, 08:17 PM
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 129
• Horses: 2
He's pretty but this wreaks of fishiness...something is wrong with him or someone would already have claimed him.

Hakuna Matata!
roanypony is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Horse Forum forums, you must first register.

Already have a Horse Forum account?
Members are allowed only one account per person at the Horse Forum, so if you've made an account here in the past you'll need to continue using that account. Please do not create a new account or you may lose access to the Horse Forum. If you need help recovering your existing account, please Contact Us. We'll be glad to help!

New to the Horse Forum?
Please choose a username you will be satisfied with using for the duration of your membership at the Horse Forum. We do not change members' usernames upon request because that would make it difficult for everyone to keep track of who is who on the forum. For that reason, please do not incorporate your horse's name into your username so that you are not stuck with a username related to a horse you may no longer have some day, or use any other username you may no longer identify with or care for in the future.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Old Thread Warning
This thread is more than 90 days old. When a thread is this old, it is often better to start a new thread rather than post to it. However, If you feel you have something of value to add to this particular thread, you can do so by checking the box below before submitting your post.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome