Abandonment laws?
 
 

       The Horse Forum > Horse Resources > Horse Law

Abandonment laws?

This is a discussion on Abandonment laws? within the Horse Law forums, part of the Horse Resources category
  • Mississippi equine abandoment laws
  • Kansas law on abandon horses

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
    01-15-2010, 02:52 PM
  #1
Trained
Abandonment laws?

I tried looking online and I guess I just don't know how to word it in google and came up with nothing.
What would constitute someone abandoning their horse? If they don't visit them? Or if there is absolutely no contact between owner and where the horse is located and there are no payments being made?
     
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
    01-15-2010, 03:01 PM
  #2
Banned
Linky to NJ lien information

Linky to where to find other states lien information


Though I guess it does not tell exactly how long it has to go unpaid for, etc.
     
    01-15-2010, 03:03 PM
  #3
Super Moderator
I think it varies from state to state. I know that when a lady left her paso on my land and I never heard from her again I spoke to a lawyer and he adviced me to run an add in the paper that said basically, "to the person that left their black paso fino gelding on my property located at xxxx address, please pay $$$ owed to me for the care and maintenance of this animal by this date or it will be sold for replenishment of funds". I gave it away, it lives with an old couple just down the street.

I also know that here if you leave a horse for 3 months w/out paying the board it becomes property of the barn it's kept at and they can sell it for no more than the money owed to them....
     
    01-16-2010, 10:21 PM
  #4
Trained
Thanks! I appreciate it!!
     
    01-22-2010, 04:06 PM
  #5
Foal
     
    01-25-2010, 01:34 AM
  #6
Trained
"usually" after 30 days, something is considered abandoned; I know this is a little different when it comes to boarding facilities, but I know if they are found wandering, or someone is noticably NOT caring for them and not living at the residence, after 30 days, they can be presumed abandoned and they can be rescued without consulting owners.

I have a mare that has been wandering around near our campus all day, so before dark, I led her and put her in our extra pasture, with water, and some hay. I am going to be contacting the sheriffs department tomorrow morning, and leaving pics, etc, so that they can get in contact with the owners; I am going to tell the department that after 10 days, the owners will be charged board and after 30, they will have to have some really good excuses as to why they have just left her to her own demise.

This is not the first time this little mare has been loose either; I found her last fall too, and brought her to a different facility right up the road from me. The owners have left her for several weeks at different places (several times), before coming to pick her up...it makes me wonder why they even have her, if they don't care where she winds up for weeks at a time...maybe I can convince them to let me buy her, or donate her to our horse program...
     

Quick Reply
Please help keep the Horse Forum enjoyable by reporting rude posts.
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Horse Forum forums, you must first register.

Already have a Horse Forum account?
Members are allowed only one account per person at the Horse Forum, so if you've made an account here in the past you'll need to continue using that account. Please do not create a new account or you may lose access to the Horse Forum. If you need help recovering your existing account, please Contact Us. We'll be glad to help!

New to the Horse Forum?
Please choose a username you will be satisfied with using for the duration of your membership at the Horse Forum. We do not change members' usernames upon request because that would make it difficult for everyone to keep track of who is who on the forum. For that reason, please do not incorporate your horse's name into your username so that you are not stuck with a username related to a horse you may no longer have some day, or use any other username you may no longer identify with or care for in the future.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Old Thread Warning
This thread is more than 90 days old. When a thread is this old, it is often better to start a new thread rather than post to it. However, If you feel you have something of value to add to this particular thread, you can do so by checking the box below before submitting your post.

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laws in Minnesota! Prairies Dixie Lee Horse Law 1 08-28-2009 01:09 PM
Stupid laws horseloverd2 Jokes and Funnies 5 05-22-2009 12:29 PM
Legal Question - Abandonment ehc5029 Horse Talk 5 02-29-2008 02:33 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0