The 30-something's Thread!! *finally* - Page 3 - The Horse Forum

 3477Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #21 of 4296 Old 03-25-2013, 05:03 PM
Started
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,831
• Horses: 2
Ooooh, jealous of your garden, FlyGap! I had lovely raised bed veggie garden plans for my city-backyard this year. Then we got a puppy who digs. I wanted chickens, too, but puppy would probably eat them before we got any eggs. Would love to do veggies in front of the house, but City Code Enforcement wouldn't be too pleased.
FlyGap likes this.
Cynical25 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 4296 Old 03-25-2013, 06:07 PM Thread Starter
Showing
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chino Valley, AZ
Posts: 15,467
• Horses: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by egrogan View Post
Muppetgirl, this is a total tangent, but I've been meaning to tell you how much I love your avatar. One of our dogs is a collie-St. Bernard mix, and when she goes too long between grooming, her hair gets crazy wild and from a young age, we always called her "Muppet" as her nickname (her actual name is Delia).

She's just as likely to come when called "Muppetgirl" as she is "Delia." Here she is in her Muppety glory last summer:
Oh my goodness!!! You "stole" my Cash! He's an Aussie/St Bernard and looks remarkably similar (at least that I can see) to your girl!


So, I realized that I was a bit vague about myself in my original post. Lol.

A little more on the "personal" side...

I was married at 20, had my son at 21, divorced at 24, and I've been pretty much single since. In June of last year, I met my boyfriend and we started dating. He's everything my ex-DH wasn't and I know I want to spend the rest of my life with him. My son adores him and my family loves him. He was friends with my oldest brother in high school (they're both 43). He is a former Marine who served in Somalia and Kuwait.

As for animals other than my beastly, we have Cash, my 6yo Aussie/St Bernard that I've had since he was 10-months-old; Abby, our five-month-old Aussie/border collie/lab puppy that we got for Cash for Christmas; and Cosmo, my boyfriend's nine-month-old orange classic tabby domestic shorthair who we rescued from outside a bar back in August when he was six-weeks-old.

I was going to start a garden this year, but that might be on hold temporarily. Robert and I found a house we absolutely adore (right now we're "renting" from his mother...yuck!). It's on an acre and it's a two-story three bedroom, two bathroom home.

Hopefully this link works: http://www.trulia.com/property/3095617410-2325-N-Apache-Dr-Chino-Valley-AZ-86323
Posted via Mobile Device
egrogan and SoldOnGaited like this.
DraftyAiresMum is offline  
post #23 of 4296 Old 03-25-2013, 06:16 PM
Green Broke
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 2,897
• Horses: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by DraftyAiresMum View Post
Oh my goodness!!! You "stole" my Cash! He's an Aussie/St Bernard and looks remarkably similar (at least that I can see) to your girl!

They are both super cute, but double weird- your other guy looks like my other guy!!!:



Delia came from near Lansing, MI, and Jimmy Carter (lab/pit mix?) came from near Chapel Hill, NC.

On a more personal note, so glad that it seems like you're in such a great place with family. It makes life so much easier when you have a terrific partner at your side!

Last edited by egrogan; 03-25-2013 at 06:21 PM.
egrogan is offline  
post #24 of 4296 Old 03-25-2013, 06:19 PM Thread Starter
Showing
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chino Valley, AZ
Posts: 15,467
• Horses: 1
Oh my! The "other guy" in that pic is Abby, our five-month-old Aussie/border collie/lab puppy.


Posted via Mobile Device
DraftyAiresMum is offline  
post #25 of 4296 Old 03-25-2013, 06:21 PM Thread Starter
Showing
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chino Valley, AZ
Posts: 15,467
• Horses: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by egrogan View Post
On a more personal note, so glad that it seems like you're in such a great place with family. It makes life so much easier when you have a terrific partner at your side!
Thanks! You're right, it does! Robert is just so perfect for me. Everyone comments on how we seem like an old married couple (minus the bickering) already.
Posted via Mobile Device
DraftyAiresMum is offline  
post #26 of 4296 Old 03-25-2013, 08:32 PM
Foal
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Indiana
Posts: 36
• Horses: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by egrogan View Post
Welcome to the Forum Megan! There's a Therapeutic Riding board on here, you should take a look if you haven't already. It's a relatively new section on the forum, so I'm not sure that a lot of people even know it's there. I volunteer in therapeutic riding too, and really like having that little "mini-community" here on the forum.
Thanks for the heads up about the therapeutic riding forum. I've seen it but haven't visited yet. I tend to get to distracted by other areas.
TerraBella is offline  
post #27 of 4296 Old 03-25-2013, 09:32 PM
Green Broke
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 4,495
• Horses: 0
Smile

Great thread! Hi everyone i'm Stacey. I'll be 36 on June 7th. I've been an animal lover my whole life and horse lover since I was 5 years old. I got my first horse ride when I was around 6. I have 2 dogs and 2 cats. I'm loved by my neighbor's 3 paints, who they let me refer to as "mine". I done all of Cheyenne's ground work, and helped her get broke to ride, which was easy thanks to her gentle nature. Tequila will be my next training challenge.

Being horseless is the pits!!
HorseLovinLady is offline  
post #28 of 4296 Old 03-25-2013, 10:15 PM
Trained
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The sandbox
Posts: 5,501
• Horses: 0
Hey, Hey!

I'm Kelli and 35.
Hubby and I have no kids, just us, dogs and horses. We started a trucking company a couple of years ago and just realized we are getting too old to take "cow camp" jobs for very little money(plus we just have too much stuff to move anymore, GEEZ!) LOL!

So we are thirty-somethings trying to figure it out, living by the seat of our pants and still wanting to live like we are in our twenties!

I DON'T LEAD 'EM AND FEED 'EM, I RIDE 'EM AND SLIDE 'EM.
COWCHICK77 is offline  
post #29 of 4296 Old 03-26-2013, 12:09 AM
Foal
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tennessee, US
Posts: 187
• Horses: 2
Hmmm, where to start..... My name is Jenn, and I am 32. I currently live in Tennessee. I am single (divorced) with 3 kids - 2 boys & 1 girl, in that order. We have a couple cats and one dog. I work in the restaurant business, and keep busy between work and the kids.

I am from Michigan originally. I grew up around horses (family, close friends) and have worked with them over the years as I got older. Most of my experience is with trail riding and training - not showing, etc. Anything from working at summer camps, to guided trail rides at State Parks, to co-managing a small herd of horses & doing trail rides. I have also worked with a local therapeutic riding program, and have worked for several months at racehorse training stables. Recently, I was able to purchase a few acres and get a house put on it - made possible by some very tragic circumstances. Now I am keeping an eye out for a good horse for my kids to learn on, and planning to bring home my 2 mustangs....if I can ever get my truck running right :/ Anyways, just wanted to say hi
FlyGap and Back2Horseback like this.
cobra is offline  
post #30 of 4296 Old 03-26-2013, 12:09 AM
Weanling
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 252
• Horses: 0
Thanks for starting this thread! I had fun reading everyone's bio. My name is Kelli and I am 39 years old.....I plan on being 39 for the next 40 years or so I have been married for 13 years and have 2 boys, 8 and 10 yrs old. We have one Lil westie named Lil Britches.

I am an elementary physical education teacher and love my job. I am not a traditional PE teacher, and I spend the majority of my time working with the kids both in and out of school. My husband and I have started after school health programs for kids and I am working diligently on changing the way we teach health and nutrition to youngsters. Technology is great, but it is also my biggest challenge when facing childhood obesity.

I live and love working in Oklahoma. I am the only person in my family (except my mom)that loves horses, but am currently horseless. We enjoy going to the lake or spending our time in Gulf Shores, Alabama....when we have free time that is!

Looking forward to the conversations!
FlyGap and Back2Horseback like this.
Kelli is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The Horse Forum forums, you must first register.

Already have a Horse Forum account?
Members are allowed only one account per person at the Horse Forum, so if you've made an account here in the past you'll need to continue using that account. Please do not create a new account or you may lose access to the Horse Forum. If you need help recovering your existing account, please Contact Us. We'll be glad to help!

New to the Horse Forum?
Please choose a username you will be satisfied with using for the duration of your membership at the Horse Forum. We do not change members' usernames upon request because that would make it difficult for everyone to keep track of who is who on the forum. For that reason, please do not incorporate your horse's name into your username so that you are not stuck with a username related to a horse you may no longer have some day, or use any other username you may no longer identify with or care for in the future.



User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Person who finally found the intro thread! OffTheTrack Meet the Community 7 09-24-2010 05:07 PM
FINALLY! The video to the "bummed out" thread centrestableswendy Horse Videos 17 03-22-2009 10:09 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome