So, I was at work today and some how we got on the subject of how much I love jello and gummy bears... Well, my co-worker told me that the gelatin that is in jello and such is made from horse hooves . I'm not so sure that I believe that... I mean, how can something so scrumptious come from horse hooves? Has anybody else heard of this? Is it true?!
I've heard that before...I know it used to be but I think now it is something else.
From Gelatin website:
Q. Isn’t Gelatin made from horse hooves? A. No. Horse hooves are made of keratin, the same material as your hair and fingernails. Gelatin cannot be made from keratin.
On a commercial scale, gelatin is made from by-products of the meat and leather industry, mainly pork skins, pork and cattle bones, or split cattle hides. Contrary to popular belief, horns and hooves are not commonly used. The raw materials are prepared by different curing, acid, and alkali processes which are employed to extract the dried collagen hydrolysate and which may take several weeks. The worldwide production amounts to 250,000 tons per year (roughly 500 million lbs).
As for home cooking, boiling certain cartilagenous cuts of meat, or bones, will result in gelatin being dissolved into the water. Depending on the concentration, the resulting broth, when cooled, will naturally form a jelly. This process may for instance be used for the pot-au-feu dish.
I've heard that one of the ingredients in Jello is chicken feet.........um......not sure if I believe it, although it's something I've been hearing most of my life. My mom's a vegetarian, and she won't eat jello because of the animal byproducts in it.