The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   New to the horse world and needing suggestions on training young horses (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/new-horse-world-needing-suggestions-training-100028/)

Eos 10-09-2011 07:44 PM

New to the horse world and needing suggestions on training young horses

So I am new to owning horses but have had plenty of experience riding and caring for them when I was younger, I just never had to choose what to feed them or what size saddle etc..

I am hoping that all of you horse people will be able to help me.

I have two 3 year old Percheron`s that we`ve had since they were 10 months old, for being baby horses they are fairly well behaved.

I realize we will most likely have to buy more than one saddle as they are still growing but I was hoping some of you could please suggest what type of saddle (preferably western) might be good for training?
How do you measure a horse for a saddle?
I`m hoping we will be able to get away with a used saddle, the biggest we can find until they are full grown and then we will get a proper draft horse saddle.

Also, any suggestions on how to train horses to tie? I`m afraid to tie them because I don`t want them to hurt themselves trying to break free.

What type and size bit should I get? and how to I `measure`them for a bit?

Any thing else you can suggest?

EveningShadows 10-09-2011 08:34 PM

If they're only "fairly well behaved" on the ground it sounds like they're not yet ready for saddles and bits...get them round penning, lunging, leading and respecting your space at all times. Yielding their hindquarters and shoulders every time you ask, being respectful when you work around them in the barn and pick out their feet - if they don't respect you FULLY on the ground, they'll have no respect for you on their backs.