The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Boarding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-boarding/)
-   -   Reducing board without being obnoxious? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-boarding/reducing-board-without-being-obnoxious-100089/)

laughing 10-10-2011 03:01 PM

Reducing board without being obnoxious?

There's this facility I have just loved since I was 13 years old. (In college now.) I'm finally going to be getting my own horse and will be paying every cent. Since I AM a college student and only work part time, I need to cut expenses as much as possible.

This place is someone's backyard. One large tack room accomadates everyone. The whole property is only about 2 acres. There is a single wash rack, round pen, and good size pasture. All horses get rotated on pasture. Then there is a quality arena. All of this I have full access to. Stalls are 12 x 24 so very large. It isn't fancy, not a 'show' barn, but the ONLY place with spacious stalls (most are 12 x 12) and actual turn-out. I love that. Stalls are fully covered.

The board is 250$ a month with hay, full care, and full access to the whole facility. I would appreciate it to be 150-175$ a month. I would do self care, and could even do chores around the facility. (Turn out horses, bring them in, scrub out water buckets, help feed, etc.) I am also not using them as a trainer, but rather my friend, as she is more experienced and is helping me finish my horse for free and offering me lessons at 15$ for an hour. (I do hunters (flat) and competing, they are more Western. Plus, lessons there are 40$ for 45 mins.)
?
How do I ask for this and get it without being obnoxious? I don't want to be that petty/mooching horse owner that is aggravating. I just want the best at the most reasonable cost and willing to work for it. I want to volunteer there for a couple months before I get my horse. Do you think this will lay the 'foundation'?

Thanks!
Posted via Mobile Device

LetAGrlShowU 10-10-2011 03:05 PM