The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Stop help

2K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  Saddlebag 
#1 ·
Hello, I have been reining for about 8 months and have been doing well at the local/provincial ranch classes, I have a 8 year old reined cowhorse mare, but I only do reining as there are no cowhorse trainers close :-(

Anyway I have a couple questions, my mare does stops fairly well anywhere from -1/2 to + 1/2 She stays light on her front end and pedals nicely and slides around 25 feet, she rarely pushes her shoulder and loves stopping I can even stop her with no reins or bridle.....my question is everytime she stops her head comes up, her head is always nice and low and she is soft on the bit but up pops her head whenever we stop. ive tried throwing the reins away, ive tried babysitting her head through it, same thing everytime....I really want her to fold over to really get the wow factor in our stops any exercises good for helping this?

another question is I am having trouble with lead changes she tends to rush them and not let me handle her through them, she usually tends to rush when she gets to center ( anticipating them) when we to tons of circles sans lead changes...any suggestions

#2 ·
To be honest with you training a reining horse is not easy. If you have only been doing this for 8 months, your skills are probably not all that great and you sure don't have the experience to train. Also, what I've noticed is the training on reined cow horses is kind of sloppy compared to reining horses. That doesn't mean your horse doesn't have the ability, but you are better off finding someone who knows what they are doing. Your horse has already learned how to stop incorrectly and you are probably talking about the two most difficult maneuvers for horse and rider: stopping and lead changes. Find someone who can help you!

#3 ·