The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Intensive horse riding training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/intensive-horse-riding-training-100496/)

theriel 10-15-2011 12:53 PM

Intensive horse riding training

Hello,
First of all - hello everyone. I am new here and I am looking forward to experiencing this community!

I am a beginner in horse riding, but I learn very quickly, at least according to my instructor (I was introduced to cantering after just a few lessons although first only on a pony). Alas, I do not have time to ride regularly (work).

There is a small problem: a friend of mine would like me to join her for a horse riding safari next summer. Although she insists it is a very easy and relaxed trip suitable for less experienced riders... there is no way I am going there without at least minimum preparation!

The question thus arises: what should I do in order to maximize my learning?

I thought about going for a week of intensive training e.g. early January. Are you aware of any place anywhere in the US (I'm based in NYC but hey, airlines are still in operation) where I could spend a few hours in the saddle per day + helping in the stables (to learn more about horses) + taking some theory classes? As it is winter I am naturally looking at southern states... I have been in the US only for a couple of months - do you have any horse-riding Mecca here? Which state is the most famous for horse riding?

Any suggestions and advice would be highly recommended! Thank you for your help!

Best regards,
Theriel

Thyme 10-16-2011 01:31 AM

Well, I live north but I would try to find some kind of horse camp. They usually last a week or two and in my experience you ride everyday, and care for the horses, along with health, tack etc.

Oxer 10-16-2011 02:17 AM