The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Boarding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-boarding/)
-   -   Considering pasture board and have questions! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-boarding/considering-pasture-board-have-questions-100771/)

verona1016 10-18-2011 12:55 AM

Considering pasture board and have questions!

I've been leasing horses for a few years now, with the current one being a full lease and my "trial run" for actually owning a horse. I think I'm finally ready to take the full plunge, and a 2 1/2 year old gelding has really caught my eye. He's been started under saddle, and assuming I do get him, I'd like to continue with ground work and not even think about riding him for another year or so.

I'd really like him to have the opportunity to just be out and "be a horse" until he's ready to start in serious training, and my current barn wouldn't allow that- it's stall board only with 3-4 hours of turnout daily.

I don't have any experience with pasture board, so I'm not even sure about basic things like feeding. Would it be unreasonable to expect to have my horse on his own diet (probably just a ration balancer unless he's a hard keeper?), or is it more normal for all the horses to get the same thing? Will being out in the pasture all the time put him at risk of overeating and foundering? What do you do if a pasture boarded horse gets injured and needs to be on stall rest?

So I guess my questions would be-
1. Is pasture boarding the best option for him? Are there other arrangements I should consider?
2. Any advice or "things I should know" as someone who's only ever had horses kept in stalls? Anything you wish you had known if/when you made the switch? (To be clear, I'm not looking at self care, since I know I couldn't make it out to see the horse every day)
3. When going to look at places for boarding, what are the pasture board-specific things I should ask about? How big of a herd is too big, and how much land per horse should I be looking for?