The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Grooming (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/)
-   -   To blanket or not? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/blanket-not-101026/)

spookychick13 10-20-2011 04:09 PM

To blanket or not?

I am not sure if I should be blanketing my horse for the winter or not.
I don't believe he was ever blanketed in the past (I've had him since Jan, and he was a wooly beast when I got him).

I live in WI and we have fairly harsh winters, but he is in his stall from 5:30 pm to 5:30 am every day.

I haven't blanketed my horses in the past, but maybe I should have?

MySerenity 10-20-2011 04:33 PM

wow. I'm in the exact same situation, down to the new wooly beast in January!

I have a sheet on right now and will soon be upgrading to a midweight. I've never done this before so I'm winging it. I also have a liner so I can sort of work with the 3 and come up with a variety of weights.

It's tough to figure all this out, especially since everyone does it differently. I'm sort of thinking I'll have to clip later when winter gets going but that's only if I need to.

Good luck and let us know what you decide to do!

(I don't know about you, but it does seem like winter has decided to head in early)

WickedNag 10-20-2011 04:36 PM

When you blanket to mash down the guard hairs. I am a firm believer in letting a horse be a horse. Only blanket horses that need it ... old, thin horses that otherwise would be shivering. I live on the bitter cold plains of SD where we don't have trees to block the bitter winds, just flat prairie as far as the eyes can see. Our wind chills and actual temps makes me wonder why my ancestors ever stayed after surviving our harsh winters. I DO NOT blanket my horses :)

spookychick13 10-20-2011 04:36 PM

Wow, you even live in WI.

Yes, it's supposed to freeze tonight!! Uncool. :(
Congrats on your wooly beast!

Crossover 10-20-2011 09:40 PM

I go with either.