The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Do I worry too much? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/do-i-worry-too-much-101471/)

BarrelWannabe 10-25-2011 11:38 AM

Do I worry too much?

I'm new to owning horses. I've had mine for close to a year, and I worry about EVERYTHING! I worry how long he's been in his stall, his feet smell funny, is he getting thrush?
His belly is bloating, is he gonna colic?
I'm feeding him too much.
I'm not feeding him enough.
He isn't drinking enough water.
His coat looks dull.
How'd he get that cut, it is going to get infected?
Is he limping?
The list goes on and on!

Do I worry too much? I know my horse isn't stupid but after all he is a horse and he will get hurt eventually. I just want to have fun with my horse, not worry so much. Is it just me being worrisome?

kitten_Val 10-25-2011 12:55 PM

Yeah, that sounds quite intense. I mean I do worry too. I was one heck of worry when my horse had issues walking after the trim (started thread here), but in the end you can't predict the future. Just do your best to keep it healthy (like picking/cleaning hoofs to avoid thrush so they won't smell etc...). :D

Saddlebag 10-25-2011 07:21 PM

I'll bet all that worrying prevents you from really enjoying your horse. Try to be concerned about what really matters, not all the hypothetical "what if's".

BarrelWannabe 10-25-2011 10:40 PM

It does. I think I worry because I don't know how to fix it if something goes wrong.

I really shouldn't stress over my stress reliver.
I'm not nearly as worrisome as I was.
I've noticed in our daily ride that he's lightened up along with me.
Posted via Mobile Device

Dreamcatcher Arabians 10-26-2011 12:18 AM