The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Measuring English saddle seat size (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/measuring-english-saddle-seat-size-101687/)

verona1016 10-27-2011 06:19 PM

Measuring English saddle seat size

Hopefully this is a quick question :-)

When measuring an English saddle's seat size from the button to the center of the cantle, do you include the entire button in the measurement?

I always assumed it was to the middle of the button, but when I tried measuring the Wintec Dressage Pro that I've been borrowing for several years, the tape measure ended up reading 16.75" in the middle of the button. So, if the measurement includes the button, it would be 17". If you don't include the button it would be 16.5". If you are supposed to measure to the middle of the button maybe something's wrong with the saddle? :shock:

WildAcreFarms 10-27-2011 06:54 PM

I that you were supposed to start in the middle of the button.
possibly they are giving a little extra seat room because of a deep seat??
several of the dressage saddles tell people to size up a seat. or a half size. that may be that saddle makers way of compensating for that.

SaddleOnline 10-27-2011 08:58 PM

I've always measured from the front of the button and included the button within the measurement.

verona1016 10-28-2011 01:41 AM

Ok, I'll go with including the button.

I've been seeing way more 17" saddles on the used market than 16.5" so that's probably the size where I'd need to start looking anyway :-)

tinyliny 10-28-2011 02:24 AM

I think your reasoning is good. I always seemed to measure from the middle of the button, but I think you do include the button. Funny, who'd think it made much of a difference.

WildAcreFarms 10-28-2011 04:12 AM

This is what Ebay says about it: