The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Things for horse that people often forget to buy!

4K views 22 replies 13 participants last post by  mselizabeth 
#1 ·
Hey guys. I'm getting a new horse (my first horse) in a week from a rescue agency. I've been riding for 8+ years and I am fairly knowledgable regarding horse ownership.

However, I am a scatter brain and I KNOW I will forget to buy something very basic and I will be kicking myself later for it. :)

So if you guys have any suggestions on what to buy. Basic, useful things that you may have forgotten with your first horse.

This list does not include tack. He comes with tack.

Here's what I have:
Boots
Chaps
Gloves
Crop
Halter
Leadrope
Curry Comb (2)
Dandy Brush (3)
Horse Hair brush
Hoof pick (2)
Helmet

And obviously a place to keep him:-p

I plan on putting together a small vet kit also, but I am not sure what to include in that either.

See less See more
#3 ·
Just a piece of advice: I have one stiff brush and one soft brush for the coat. During a winter I usually use stiff one to get hold of all this mud. You may also want to look into detangler (I use it on tail mostly once in while) and sweat scraper (to scrape water off when you give him a bath).

#4 ·
Thanks guys, I have the two different kids of brushes. And I am looking into getting him a rug.

Is it really that necessary to buy two leadropes and halters? Everyone says it is, but he wont be turned out with it on and I have a place to keep my stuff locked away from everyone else.

Also, any good things to get medicine wise?

#6 ·
Is it really that necessary to buy two leadropes and halters? Everyone says it is, but he wont be turned out with it on and I have a place to keep my stuff locked away from everyone else.