The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Dressage (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/)
-   -   Newbie ? - what is the dressage whip for in lower level? (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/newbie-what-dressage-whip-lower-level-102275/)

With Grace 11-02-2011 12:47 PM

Newbie ? - what is the dressage whip for in lower level?

Hi all - I'm just beginning dressage, and I dont use a whip at all...and at every low level test I have seen, the rider carries one but I've never seen it being used. I know it is used to ask for more impulsion, but at low level, is it something I should be using? Do I have to carry one in a test?

Sorry for my dumb ?'s...I'd ask my instructor at my next lesson but dont want to wait that long...

Delfina 11-02-2011 01:00 PM

You are not required to carry or use one in a test.

Every horse is different, I currently carry one but I do not use it. My horse is pretty terrified of whips, I have de-sensitized him on the ground and now I am working on it under-saddle. If I was to actually use it, I'd be a bloody splotch 2 counties over. He does not need me to use it, he was lazy and lacking in impulsion so my trainer and I worked on that until he no longer was. I am working on the de-sensitization because he was having issues with other riders that were carrying one, passing him.

Personally, I prefer a horse that does not *need* one. It's just one more thing to remember, haul around and have to deal with.

Golden Horse 11-02-2011 01:00 PM

I never carry one in a test, Mr G doesn't need it

kitten_Val 11-02-2011 01:04 PM

I carry one all the time. I sometime have to tap when my qh decides it's enough and doesn't listen to my leg, to remind her to stay forward (mostly at the walk). I almost never use it on my paint because she has enough "go" already (too much sometime).

Equestrienne92 11-02-2011 05:00 PM