The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Cooler Questions (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/cooler-questions-102346/)

nicole25 11-03-2011 01:16 AM

Cooler Questions

So I understand the basic concepts of a cooler. I will be using it this up coming winter after riding. Beau is a sweater especially under the saddle. I have been rubbing him off with a dry towel and that is doing a pretty okay job right now. It it getting increasingly colder especially with the snow that we just had. So my question or questions I should say would be, do i keep the cooler on him until he is dry? Can i turn him out in the cooler if he isnt totally dry? Also how long does it typically take for the cooler to dry him off so to say.

Also any other cooler tips would be great. This is my first winter that I have a horse that is fully mine so I am still learning about winter care.

thanks!

Wallaby 11-03-2011 02:00 AM

Subbing. :)

kitten_Val 11-03-2011 07:30 AM

You can turn out in cooler, but it'll be all dirty (and possibly damaged) after one good roll or butt scratch on tree. :wink: I've heard people putting cooler and then waterproof turnout sheet on top of it before turning out. Personally I wipe mine with big human towel and then brush and then let her go, and re-brush when she's dry. I use cooler only when I trailer after the lesson (if the horse is very sweaty) and it's cold outside.

Skyseternalangel 11-03-2011 05:53 PM

I use a square cooler usually only in the colder months if we've worked really hard and he's very sweaty. I just pop the cooler on him for a good 10 minutes and fold it back until the area where his kidneys are is completely dry. Sometimes it takes up to 30 minutes. I always curry after the cooler has been on to fluff up his hair and provide my horse with a little extra warmth too by getting the circulation going.