The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Continuing Horseback Riding in College? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/continuing-horseback-riding-college-102639/)

Ammy 11-06-2011 02:15 PM

Continuing Horseback Riding in College?

Hello, all! I'm looking for a little advice. I'm a sophomore in high school, and although I still have some time before it's actually upon me, my college years are looming ahead in the not too distant future. In addition to all the academic preparation to get into the university I'd like to, I have been thinking more and more about how I can continue equine activities in my college years. I have been taking riding lessons for four years, but (for economic reasons) do not own a horse of my own. I work at a stable that help disabled children and adults to ride horses as a method of physical therapy and spend about five hours a week there, when academics permit.

I'd really like to continue riding through college and beyond, but I'm not really sure how to approach this issue. If I can't afford to buy a horse now, I doubt I'd be able to get one in college for obvious reasons. I plan on going to college out of state, so I can't continue riding with my trainer and at work. For those of you who have already "been around the block" on this issue, could you please give me so advice? I can't really imagine myself going for four years of my life without some degree of equine interaction.

Val1991 11-06-2011 03:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ammy (Post 1224251)
I can't really imagine myself going for four years of my life without some degree of equine interaction.

Ya, I know just what you mean. When I was looking at colleges one of the first things I checked out in the areas was their local barns. Not beinging in contact with horses for four years.... the thought of it made me feel like I was being jack-hammered to pieces.