The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   No money but can't give up my dream. (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/no-money-but-cant-give-up-102671/)

itsdennys 11-06-2011 07:34 PM

No money but can't give up my dream.

I've been riding for almost 12 years. The first few years I was able to afford it but over time I wound up working for my lessons and began training horses on my own. I just recently moved away for school and I have yet to find any place that could help me out. All I want is some experience. I'll work in exchange for riding lessons or any work with a horse. I just don't want to have to let go of this simply because I can't afford it.
This time last year I was doing 4ft courses consistently, but unfortunately the horse was sold by the owner. The horse I worked with after that was for flat work only. I have experience starting green horses over fences, in fact, one of them was my 4ft horse. I have also trained horses for natural horsemanship. Bit-less and bridle-less is so much fun.
I've tried everything imaginable to find a place to ride out here. I even found someone to sponsor me... I just can't seem to find anyone. I found one hunter-jumper barn and I did visit and had an evaluation lesson, but I wasn't fond of the horse she wanted me to ride and the way she ran the facility. I just want a place to have fun and play with horses haha
If someone could please help me or give me some idea of where to look or what to do.... I've tried craigslist for literally everything related to horses... nothing so far. I've posted on there, people have contacted me, but they want me to go wayyy too far.
Please please please please :-(

Red Gate Farm 11-06-2011 07:43 PM

A quick google search shows a few facilities in the Redland, CA area. Did you try that?