The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Learning how to communicate (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/learning-how-communicate-102873/)

Erfellie 11-08-2011 08:00 PM

Learning how to communicate

I have had my mare for nearly 5 years now and am entirely self taught on the matter of horses. Unlike many fortunate people I wasnt born with horse sense or grew up in a horse family so I didnt have much to learn from. Lately I have been reading/posting on this forum, watching several training videos, and reading lots of books and I finally feel like I am learning how to speak horse :) Why didnt I do this 5 years ago? I dont know. But man, does it feel good to learn. I had a breakthrough today that really just made my whole day happy and now I am thinking to myself, "Why didnt I figure that out sooner?" It was such a simple solution but I always overlooked it and ended up frustrated all too often. I just want to say Thank you to all of those on my forum posts who have given me helpful advise :-P

Skyseternalangel 11-09-2011 04:59 PM

I'm in the same boat.. I can't get enough of reading up on training techniques then trying the ones that make most sense with my horse. Even making some up as I go along seems to work. I definitely want to say thank you to everyone as well.

I'm so glad things are clicking for you!!! It feels wonderful doesn't it? :)

kait18 11-09-2011 05:02 PM

its so very true... i know i feel the same way. thank you :)

bubba13 11-09-2011 05:13 PM

The best thing you can do is hang out with good riders/trainers....and observe.

Skyseternalangel 11-09-2011 05:16 PM

That and watching horses interact in their herd.. it's very interesting

kevinshorses 11-09-2011 05:26 PM