The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/)
-   -   Lack of depth perception/no 3D vision - impact my ability to jump? (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/lack-depth-perception-no-3d-vision-103107/)

Gilly 11-10-2011 11:20 PM

Lack of depth perception/no 3D vision - impact my ability to jump?

Hello all,

I've been riding for five months now and one day I would really, really love to learn to jump. I was born with no 3D vision and cannot determine how far something is from me (I can tell simple things, but if someone throws a ball my way 9 times out of 10 it'll either hit me in the face or I'll miss completely) and I'm concerned it'd prevent me from jumping because I cannot definitely tell how far away a jump is/distance between jumps just by looking.

Do you rely more on counting your horse's strides than your sight to know when to lift yourself out of the saddle etc?

I know I'm far too inexperienced to even look at a jump (no pun intended :P) but I'd love to have a crack at it one day. Any input/advice will be much appreciated.

myhorsesonador 11-10-2011 11:26 PM

I think you should find a good trainer that has some school master hunter type horses. A good trainer should be able to teach you to feel when the horse is going to jump, so that you would be able to jump with the horse. I don't know how advance you seeing is so I don't know how far you would be able to go with jumping, but I'm sure with a good trainer and the willingness to learn, you should be able to atleast be able to jump 2ft.

Gilly 11-10-2011 11:34 PM

Thanks for the quick response, myhorsesonador! Besides the no 3D and no peripheral vision/lazy right eye (can you tell I came from the shallow end of the gene pool? :P) my vision is good. I can drive and don't wear glasses. I'm not planning on doing big league shows or anything but just jumping for the sake of learning to jump and improve my all-round riding ability.