The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Dressage (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/)
-   -   Getting into dressage. (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/getting-into-dressage-103275/)

Snizard93 11-13-2011 05:34 AM

Getting into dressage.

From Monday I am loaning a 3 and a half year old Friesian. His owner doesn't have the time for him so I will basically be the only one working with him and riding him. Being a Friesian, dressage is obviously an option! I will also throw in jumping on the side for fun, but dressage is where he is expected to excel!

I have never done dressage before, only jumping and cross country. How would I go about getting into it?

Snizard93 11-13-2011 08:30 AM

Bump :shock:

maura 11-13-2011 09:36 AM

I'm not sure what sort of answer you're looking for, so I'm going to start with the obvious ones.

Take lessons from a dressage trainer.
Start working your way through some of the classic dressage texts. Riding Logic by Wm. Muesler, anything by Podhajsky, Riding toward the Light by Paul Belasik.
Rent videos - Jane Savoie has some great ones.

I'm sorry if that answer is obvious, if you're looking for something more specific and detailed, let me know and I'll try to respond more appropriately.

Spyder 11-13-2011 09:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snizard93 (Post 1231543)
From Monday I am loaning a 3 and a half year old Friesian. His owner doesn't have the time for him so I will basically be the only one working with him and riding him. Being a Friesian, dressage is obviously an option! I will also throw in jumping on the side for fun, but dressage is where he is expected to excel!

I have never done dressage before, only jumping and cross country. How would I go about getting into it?

I REALLY think you need to get organized and focused on one thing at a time.

You are FREE LEASING ( NOT LOANING) a 3 year old.