The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   First english saddle help? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/first-english-saddle-help-103972/)

BunnyPilgrimCritter3 11-20-2011 02:21 PM

First english saddle help?

I've been riding for just over 3 years now, and I'm thinking of buying my own saddle. I can walk-trot-canter, I've jumped 2'3"-2'6" at home and shown 2'. I have almost $700 in my savings and my parents have offered to give me some money for Christmas. What are some good quality english saddles around this price that you would recommend for Hunter/Jumper Equitation? I ride 2-3 times a week and do occasional shows. Also I'm 5'3" and ride ponies ranging from 13.1-14.1ish and sometimes horses around 15.3. :D:D:D:D:D Thanks!

jumpingrules92 11-20-2011 02:57 PM

For that price range an M. Toulouse :) I LOVE mine!

AnneGage 11-20-2011 03:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BunnyPilgrimCritter3 (Post 1239215)
I've been riding for just over 3 years now, and I'm thinking of buying my own saddle. I can walk-trot-canter, I've jumped 2'3"-2'6" at home and shown 2'. I have almost $700 in my savings and my parents have offered to give me some money for Christmas. What are some good quality english saddles around this price that you would recommend for Hunter/Jumper Equitation? I ride 2-3 times a week and do occasional shows. Also I'm 5'3" and ride ponies ranging from 13.1-14.1ish and sometimes horses around 15.3. :D:D:D:D:D Thanks!

Whatever saddle you get must fit you AND the horse. You don't mention if you are riding different horses or have your own horse. If you are riding different horses, don't buy a saddle yet OR buy one that fits the horse you ride most often and do not use it on any other horse.