The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Teaching a horse to move with more impulsion, and better transitions. Help? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/teaching-horse-move-more-impulsion-better-104246/)

LovesMyDunnBoy 11-23-2011 07:56 PM

Teaching a horse to move with more impulsion, and better transitions. Help?

I would like some tips on making my horse transition from trot to canter better. She always just speeds up, and her trot feels like riding a jack-hammer. I am still learning how to ride the canter. So when she trots like that my balance goes to hell and it's hard to stay on. lol. So how can I make her transition her gaits better? I would also like her to push herself along with her butt rather than drrag herself by her front. thankks
Posted via Mobile Device

tinyliny 11-23-2011 08:16 PM

your horse sounds like it's "falling" into the canter. There are two ways for a horse to take the canter, jumping into it and falling into it. For her to be able to jump inot the canter, she must be really balanced in the trot that preceeds it. And to facilites stepping off with the correct leg , the rider has to know how to cue the canter at just the right place of the trot sequence.
THis all means one has to have a pretty good seat.

I confess that I often cue for canter virtually "guessing" at the time when it will make my horse step into the canter with the correct lead.

I believe the correct time for the cue is immediately after the outside front leg strikes the ground and the horse is just about to rebound into its' moment of supspension, and the rear outside leg is just lifting forward to complete it's trot segment. That's when it can strike the ground as the first step in the canter sequence, so cueing when that leg is just reaching forward is when you will have the best success.