The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Grooming (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/)
-   -   Tails (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/tails-10429/)

newhorsemom 06-22-2008 12:27 AM

Tails

New horse owner here and wondering about brushing out tails. I have been told never to brush out the tail, just pick through it with your fingers otherwise you'll thin it out too much. That just seems kind of gross to me and it seems like you'd have dreadlocks before too long. But again, I'm new at this so what do I know?

My horses tail is not terribly thick but it's not thin either - but it is long and we had to cut it so that it would clear the ground.

Harley Heaven 06-22-2008 06:29 AM

I brush out my horses tails, and with out thining them.
I'll make sure the tail is clean and in good condition. and seperate it into sections. Always grasp above the area I am brushing out and will most times pull the tail off to the side of the horse so I am not standing right behind the animal as I am brushing.

If your horse has tangles or matting of any sort, I have had good luck using virgin olive oil rubed into the tail to help loosen the knots. then just brush it on through the tail. It's a more natural product than show sheen, or any detangler like cowboy magic.

Anyway, thats the short version of how I handle a tail.

alstaxidermy 06-22-2008 07:51 AM

I brush them! But I do use a regular people brush on the ladies' hair and I also use people conditioner (Infusium 23 leave in treatment) when they get their tails really messed up. I guess maybe I spoil them a little bit hough. They are my ladies :D

Vidaloco 06-22-2008 07:56 AM