The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Diagonals (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/diagonals-10552/)

claireauriga 06-24-2008 07:38 PM

Diagonals

I'm a very new rider (two hours of lessons and counting ...) and having been introduced to the concept of diagonals, I'm told that in time I'll learn to feel which diagonal I'm on, rather than having to glance down at the horse's shoulder. Obviously the biggest help will be practice, practice, practice, but what should I be feeling for?

My seat isn't very good yet, and as I'm still learning the very basics of riding I'm not very good at communicating with the horse via my bum! In my last riding lesson, my friend who was watching informed me that while I was trotting 20m circles, my horse was ... manuring the arena, so to speak. But as I couldn't feel that, I was urging him forwards with my legs while he was trying to go to the loo xD

jeddah31 06-24-2008 08:52 PM

You will learn to feel the horse through your seat. Even if you don't belive it at this stage. Trotting on a 20m circle, if you are rising on the incorrect diagonal, you will feel slightly off-balanced and you horse won't feel like it's on the circle properly.
It just takes a lot of time, it's not really something you can explain, you have to learn yourself, through feeling it

*ArabianPrincess* 06-24-2008 08:54 PM

I agree with jeddah.

I also know which diagonal I'm on automatically because going to the left i go onto the right diagonal but going to the right i'm not so i can change after changing my rein from left to right =]

If you find which diagonal you automatically go on first the time you change your rein you can change it and not have to worry about feeling for it haha xD

Well that's what i taught myself anyway cause i used to not have lessons.

claireauriga 06-24-2008 09:01 PM