The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Natural Horsemanship (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/)
-   -   Crazy? or not? (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/crazy-not-105885/)

MissPalmsThree 12-11-2011 03:51 AM

Crazy? or not?

Hi, my name is Kaitlyn, and I ride western. I have been riding for 8 years and I moved to Splendora a couple years ago, I started going to this new barn and they barrel race there. My old horse riding instuctor didn't like barrel racing because she said it ruins a horse, I belive her but, is it true? Does it or can it ruin a horse?

BravadoThePony 12-11-2011 04:41 AM

Bad training is what ruins a horse, and it happens in all disciplines. I know nothing about barrel racing, but the discipline itself will not 'ruin' a horse, no.

MissPalmsThree 12-11-2011 05:34 AM

Okay, Thank you very much for answering. (:

usandpets 12-11-2011 06:55 AM

I've seen and heard of several horses that used to barrel race that had a hard time just walking. Not because they are lame or injuries but because they have learned only to go fast. They just want to go, go, go. It can be fixed though
Posted via Mobile Device

Cherie 12-11-2011 03:18 PM

If a horse is not real 'hot' bred and gets proper training, it can sometimes be happy going slow after learning to go at full speed.

A lot of really hot bred horses have a difficult time with this even when they get brought along slowly. After all, race bred horses have been bred for many generations to have that competitive nature and they love to run.

If you do at least 10X as much slow work as fast work and only occasionally work at full speed, you may be able to keep his sanity. Horses that are 'bred to run' seem to get very competitive very quickly and they just can't stand having horses in front of them that are going faster than you want yours to go.

bubba13 12-11-2011 03:23 PM