The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Nutrition (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-nutrition/)
-   -   Will a change in feed/supplements calm my horse? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-nutrition/will-change-feed-supplements-calm-my-105900/)

indigo love 12-11-2011 11:24 AM

Will a change in feed/supplements calm my horse?

I'm new to these fourms, and any advice is appreciated :-)

I own a five year old Quarter Horse gelding. In the summer he is my dream horse, calm, athletic, and willing with a fantastic personality. In the winter though it's a complete change. He becomes nervous, spooky, hyper and irritable. I'm wondering if this could be from two many calories or sugar in his diet? (I know very little when it comes to horse nutrition:-|)
I have only had him for a year, and we are going into our second winter together and I would like this winter to be much better then last.

He is kept on full time turn out with good quality grass hay and ridden 5 times a week even in the 20 degree weather. I do a lot of ground work, but that has only helped me to a certin point. He is also fed Red Cell (an iron supplement) because he is has a low blood count with out it. (there was no behavior change when I started this supplement). He also is feed a 3/4 of a scoop of a grain blend. (I have exact details of this feed if needed, it is the same brand feed that came from his original owner, I have never taken him off of it.) He is on the skinny side so I don't feel like I can cut out is grain completely.

I tried SmartCalm Ultra with no effect. I tryed this only because it was just more vitamins and would have no bad effects on my horse. Before I go try any herbal supplements (like oralx calm and cool) I wanted to try changing his feed instead, as it is the safer option, and I only want whats best for me and my horse.

Some things I have thought about trying are...
Cutting out the grain but subsituting it with hay cubes.
Feeding raspberry leaves.
A thiamine supplement.