The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   The time has come for the C word! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/time-has-come-c-word-105914/)

Skyseternalangel 12-11-2011 03:03 PM

The time has come for the C word!

Yep, cantering.. which I'm going to try my hand at tomorrow during my hour long lesson (usually we do 30 minutes, but we're working on lungeline work first)

I refused to canter until my sitting trot was there, and I'd finally got it and my horse gets it. So my instructor and I both agree we are ready to learn it.

I've been lunging him w/t/c for a few months now. He easily can trot but still I have to really encourage him to canter but when he does, he gets it and it comes around since he's still learning to balance and figure out where his feet need to be.

A girl interested in leasing him cantered him today and he was better on his stiffer side and kind of went all out with nose up on his better side.

He HAS been cantered previously by other trainers and riders, just not with me. So it's been a good 5 months since he's done it under saddle.

We're giving it a whirl and only during lessons (I'll probably lunge him at the canter) during the week and focus on trot work till I feel I'm ready to do it on my own.

I'm a little nervous because my last injury this mare started cantering and bucking and I flew off. But I'm also really READY and I believe he is too.

Tips? Tricks? Prayers? Support? Anything at this point :P

Duren 12-11-2011 03:04 PM

Good luck! Once you are comfortable with it then thats all you'll want to do.

Skyseternalangel 12-11-2011 03:06 PM

Thank you!

Sharpie 12-11-2011 03:19 PM

Depending on how nervous you are, you could have him on the lunge line. That way your instructor controls him while you focus on getting his rhythm down. It's a great way to improve you skills and a nice transition to cantering under saddle for him.

Skyseternalangel 12-11-2011 03:31 PM