The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   ready for a new bit? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/ready-new-bit-106181/)

Knstout 12-13-2011 11:57 PM

ready for a new bit?

Hello I have a gelding who just turned three in april. I started riding him this summer so he has been rode for about four months now. He has never bucked or nothing he is very easy going turns good backs good pretty well does everything you ask of him. Here lately when I have been riding him when I ask him to Whoa (i make sure to say whoa everytime I want him to stop) he does not stop like I would like him to. Im not looking for him to do a sliding stop, but he likes to kind of ignore the bit when I ask him and just pretty well if were loping he will break down to a trot and then eventually stop. If were trotting he just continues to slow down until he stops. I started him in a o ring side pull then put him in a o ring smooth mouth piece it is a thin mouth piece. I just feel like he is ready for something new maybe with a little more Hello i said whoa or a little more bite. I have read all kinds of sites about bits but never really seem to get a good answer. He is half registered his daddy is whata bold dash which goes back to dash for perks and his mom is not registered. Im hoping to use him for barrel racing, but dont want to rush him. So we mainly work on trotting loping circles roll backs collection and picking his leads up. So anyhelp I could get would be greatly appreciated.

bubba13 12-14-2011 12:03 AM