The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Jobs (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-jobs/)
-   -   Once in a lifetime opportunity (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-jobs/once-lifetime-opportunity-106324/)

TKButtermilk 12-15-2011 01:20 PM

Once in a lifetime opportunity

I have been offered a job as the trainers assistant at a top Reined Cowhorse & Cutting barn! It's an incredible opportunity, I cannot believe this was just dropped in my lap. It's a live in, paid position & I can take my mare and my dog. AMAZING. It's also terrifying and daunting. I will be moving over an hour and a half away and it's very in the middle of nowhere( for me) as there is no cell service. The job is entirely hands on I'll be tacking, bathing and lunging to begin with and then will be moving up to riding. I had my first day yesterday and honestly I feel like an idiot and a total beginner because they do things entirely different than I do and than the style that I've been taught. I don't think either is better so much as its hard to learn a whole new way to handle horses. But im sticking with it!

This is absolutely amazing considering ive been rotting away working at a bagel and coffee shop trying to figure out what I wanna do with my life and how to get where I wanna be.

My mom just got laid off and I've been struggling to pay for 2 cars, and 2 horses not to mention my other bills. Living check to check and barely making it has always been worth it to keep our girls. Just goes to show good things can happen even when life looks like total crap and you're barely making it.
Posted via Mobile Device

tinyliny 12-15-2011 01:47 PM

This is fantastic! I hope it is the very best possible experience. I am sure they did not ask you to come there without having a good reason, so you must have something valuable to offer. Good luck!

Golden Horse 12-15-2011 02:00 PM

Best of luck with the new job, sounds amazing, but no cell service :shock:

Country Woman 12-15-2011 10:50 PM