The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   HELP - Identify this saddle. (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/help-identify-saddle-106454/)

sommsama09 12-17-2011 01:50 AM

HELP - Identify this saddle.

3 Attachment(s)
Hey guys,
Yesterday, I got a saddle for $40.50, and It was sold to me as a GP, but im wondering if any of you recognise what brand it is, and what it might have cost new, etc. Im in australia if that helps. ALSO how do i measure the saddle correctly, and how can i tell if it is mounted - i am asuming that it would be as it is a used saddle?

Thank you!! Can get more pics if required :)

I am sorry if the pictures are huge - they are ofr my camera that i have never used before - not great at still photos as it is a video camera :)

tinyliny 12-17-2011 03:22 AM

I am not certain but it looks a bit like an old fashioned English "Show Saddle".
Ask Faye.

Angelina1 12-17-2011 05:36 AM

It is a well used Indian Leather GP, made by Saddlecraft now and sell new, fully mounted for $299.00. The price you paid for a second hand one of these is about what they normal get.. as long as the tree is sound (you should get this looked at before putting it on a horse, also check all the stitching, as it looks like it is coming apart in a few places) - to measure the seat size, take a measuring tape and measure from the button at the front of the saddle to the middle of the cantle (the high part of the back of the seat). It also looks like it has the original leathers and Nickel plated Stirrups. Hope this helps..

sommsama09 12-17-2011 07:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Angelina1 (Post 1269217)