The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Stop anticipating a problem? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/stop-anticipating-problem-106470/)

MyLittleHunter 12-17-2011 11:04 AM

Stop anticipating a problem?

Hey everyone,

I've been riding for 12 years, and I've owned my horse Dallas for 6 years. He's a really good boy and always does his best for me, but the thing is whenever we have an issue I'm the problem. I have anxiety issues, but this normally doesn't bother me when I'm riding, well it didn't for 11 years. Last November I was riding Dallas outside and it was a cold and windy day. That was fine, not a problem. Well then my neighbors starting shooting off their guns, Dallas wasn't bothered but I started getting nervous that he was going to act up. The final straw was turkeys. The guns scared a bunch of wild turkeys that flew up into the brush right next to Dallas and I. The turkeys scared the crap out of me and Dallas then spooked. I wasn't ready like I should have been and I took a nasty fall. I was in my western saddle and took the horn twice to my stomach when he bucked, then it hit my leg as I fell. I landed flat out on my back and couldn't move for a few minutes. A neighbor caught my horse, and my brother helped me up. I was so sore I couldn't get out of bed for a week. Since then I've still ridden Dallas and showed him successfully, but I've always had these nerves since then. I anticipate there being a problem before there even is any trouble, and it's a self-fulfilling prophecy. I panic over something and Dallas reacts.