The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Dressage (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/)
-   -   What are the best Dressage saddles? (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/what-best-dressage-saddles-106747/)

Showjumper1 12-20-2011 03:47 PM

What are the best Dressage saddles?

I've done english riding and jumping for a little while but I'm going to get into dressage as well, but I'm new to it and I'm not familiar with the best brands in tack to buy. I'm looking to buy a leather saddle as well as a bridle. What are the best brands for these?

Also, I'm not really into the wintec brand, so any other suggestions would be great. Thanks :wink:

DuffyDuck 12-20-2011 04:14 PM

I always look for saddles that have good re-market value. Obviously comfort for horse and rider is important, but well known brands like kieffer and stubben I know sell very well, even if you buy a second hand one, reselling that will bring in the money.

Valentina 12-20-2011 04:24 PM

The best brand saddle is one that puts the rider into the proper position (no chair seats, etc.) and fits the horse. I prefer saddle which can have their trees adjusted so as the horses topline changes you just adjust the tree rather than look for a new saddle.

Hennig is one of the best, but is very pricey, so I have the Verhan Odyssey I (Not the Hanover since that tree can NOT be adjusted).

Verhan? Saddlery ? Dressage Saddles ?
Mahtowa Meadows - Specializing in Gently Used European Saddles for Dressage, Jumping, & All-Purpose including Hennig Saddles, Barry Swain, and more

Dressage saddles are usually larger in the seat than jumping saddles (e.g. I ride in a 17" jumping saddle and an 18" dressage saddle - both have deep seats), so sit in the saddle you are interested in and make certain it fits you (seat, twist and length of flap) and the horse (tree).

Showjumper1 12-20-2011 06:03 PM

Thanks guys for your advice :).

cakemom 12-20-2011 06:06 PM

Valentina said it best. My fave saddle I have is my stubben.