The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Clippers? and tarps? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/clippers-tarps-106808/)

HarleyWood 12-20-2011 10:35 PM

Clippers? and tarps?

How to get horses use to the clippers so i can clip bridle paths and maybe fetlocks?

also we have a trap where the door is its and they go in and out and it touches them and they dont care but my 4 year old spooked and freaked out one day when my mom caame in. and we go under it all the time and hes fine other wise. how to get him use to them, along with my 3 year old?

HarleyWood 12-22-2011 02:04 PM

Anyone?

kait18 12-22-2011 02:13 PM

with the tarp just keep making them pass it. if you have access to one you can mess with then have the horses walk on it, rub it on them put it on them like a blanket. shake it next to them... youjsut have to desentize them to the tarp noise and movements.

as for clippers. i have never used them before. i would assume you justtake your time with it. have the clippers off and let the horse smell it. once he doesnt care rub it on his neck and by his ears. when he is ok with that then i would turn them on and just move around his ears and head and neck and get him used to the noise without touching them with it. then when they settle attempt to do for the actually clipping of the mane/fetlocks etc.

thats just what i would do...

Skyseternalangel 12-22-2011 02:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kait18 (Post 1276021)
as for clippers. i have never used them before. i would assume you justtake your time with it. have the clippers off and let the horse smell it. once he doesnt care rub it on his neck and by his ears. when he is ok with that then i would turn them on and just move around his ears and head and neck and get him used to the noise without touching them with it. then when they settle attempt to do for the actually clipping of the mane/fetlocks etc.

thats just what i would do...