The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Draft Horses (http://www.horseforum.com/draft-horses/)
-   -   New here (http://www.horseforum.com/draft-horses/new-here-106886/)

turtleaut 12-21-2011 04:57 PM

New here

2 Attachment(s)
Hi, I am new to the draft horse breed and am glad to find this forum. My new 8 yr old Clydesdale is on his way home and should be at my farm around 7:00 tonight. I found him by chance when I emailed a breeder describing what I was looking for (gentle, dead broke, non horsey hubby friendly :D). She did not have anything but actually had recently been contacted by a client who was selling and she thought he would be just what I was looking for. Ironically it turned out that the owner lived about 10 miles from my parents and they went to look at him for me. My mom has never been too much of a horse person (in fact noone in my family is so where did I get it from???) but he won her over pretty quick. So this 18H puppy dog is now in the trailer travelling "home". I can't wait to meet him. Any advice on drafts would be appreciated. I currently barrel race and have a Quarter horse mare as well as 6 miniature donkeys. Here is a pic of my new boy with my mom (he needs a little TLC) and an older pic of him.

Country Woman 12-21-2011 07:49 PM

Welcome to the forum Turtleau
He is very cute and handsome
Have fun with him
what are you going to do with him?

MHFoundation Quarters 12-21-2011 08:10 PM

Welcome to the forum! :wave:

What a handsome boy!

Theresa1 12-21-2011 08:19 PM

Sorry, I'm not any help at all other than to say he's beautiful! I'd think the drafts have the same needs as regular horses, except just more food :D

DutchFeather 12-21-2011 09:44 PM

Drafts are a type not a breed, Clydesdale is his breed.