The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Barrel Racing (http://www.horseforum.com/barrel-racing/)
-   -   Beginner Advice (http://www.horseforum.com/barrel-racing/beginner-advice-106990/)

luckstruck13 12-22-2011 08:30 PM

Beginner Advice

I am going to start training my gelding in about a month to see if him and I can run barrels. I've never done it before and am not the most experienced. I am dedicated, determined and my horse and I have been riding together for years now. Everyone I've talked to so far thinks he is a great prospect with the build and speed for it and so I was just wondering what kind of advice anyone might be able to provide.

BarrelRacer23 12-22-2011 09:25 PM

Find someone to help you. Lessons. That's my advice
Posted via Mobile Device

Cinnys Whinny 12-22-2011 09:41 PM

I would make sure you have good lead changes before going into barrels, preferably automatic. It will make the barrel training less stressful both physically and mentally. The barrel trainer at my stable always starts out horses by walking and trotting them tightly around one barrel for a while and then alternates. Then she works the patter but circles each barrel about 5 times before moving on to the next. She calls it "patterning" and I don't know much about barrels but her horses usually do very well when she competes. I know she usually works with a horse a minimum of 6 month before actually going on a real run for the first time too.

SorrelHorse 12-23-2011 04:17 AM

Agreed with the trainer. There are a million differant pieces of advice I could give you for every certain situation, and it would be impossible to get it all down on paper.