The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Riding in college?

2K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  hflmusicislife 
#1 ·
I'm a sophomore in high school but i'm starting to look at colleges and such. I'd like to ride at school and I would love joining an NCAA team, but looking at some of peoples' application videos was a bit intimidating. I'd consider myself a good rider, but I've never had the opportunity to ride a "made" horse. I primarily break ponies and work with very green horses who can't even jump a cross rail yet, let alone look perfect over a 3'6 course... I think I'm going to start getting my name out and see if I can get some rides and show experience on bigger and better horses, though the problem is going to be financially because, as you all know, horses are not exactly cheap.

Anyway, my question is do any of you ride at your college? If so, where and do you like it? I'm primarily interested in NCAA, but I'd also love hearing about how IHSA works too. I'd just like to get a feel for how this stuff works and what would be the best thing for me to pursue because I have a feeling college is going to sneak up on me :shock:

#3 ·
Hi. Freshman in college here.

First of all, don't be intimidated by other riders at all, especially if you're used to breaking in green ponies, that just shows you can ride anything! I'd include that in the application.

My colleges IHSA team is currently looking for more beginner riders to ride in the beginner classes, so even if you aren't spectacular (Which I'm sure you are) you probably have a chance because they'll probably need a spot in some class somewhere.

I did NOT try out for my schools riding team for two reasons. 1. Cost, almost 1000$ a semester if you factor in everything. That's insane especially when you're in college. Money will become scarce, you'll have to buy books and such.