The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Half Lease, $700... 16.3h Irish Sport Horse Mare

6K views 28 replies 21 participants last post by  gypsygirl 
#1 · (Edited)
I am a hunter/jumper trainer in the Sarasota, FL area (Clark rd).
I have a 20 year old, 16.3h Imported Irish Sport Horse coming out of retirement as a broodmare and I am looking for someone interested in half leasing her.

I am asking $700/month as that is exactly how much it costs me to board/feed/and care for her. I will include 1 lesson a week into the lease at no additional charge, if the rider is interested. If you choose to keep her at a different barn than the one I have chosen, then you will be paying for her board by yourself seperately, and the lease fee goes down to $300/month. SHE MUST STAY IN SARASOTA, FL!

This mare was once a top-of-the-line 4' equitation horse. Had training in the Grand Prix ring with Todd Minikus as a youngster. Knows up to 3rd level dressage. Once she gets back in shape (which admittedly may take a while), she will make an AWESOME 2'6" equitation horse or dressage horse for someone.

If you look at my picture albums you can see her showing in the past as well as a few recent pictures of her while she was passing inspection as a broodmare.

I'm happy to answer any questions!

See less See more
#4 ·
Why should anyone pay you for the "privilege" of tuning up your retired horse for you? If anything, it sounds to me like YOU should be the one paying for this mare to get some work... or at least offering a free deal to a talented rider who wants to spend the time with her.

Also, a "half lease" generally implies that the lessee pays HALF of the cost of keeping the horse so that they can ride the horse HALF of the time. Why on earth would they be expected pay the full cost of keeping the horse?

I apologize, but this is just one of my pet peeves that I hate to see.

#7 ·