The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

i need advice

3K views 15 replies 13 participants last post by  geewillikers 
#1 ·
i've been riding english pleasure for 15 years and hav never owned a horse but recently i got married and we're moving soon so that i can finally get a horse.
i wanted to know what is a good breed for a first horse. i have heard that some draft horses are good but i just wanted to get you oppinion. :D thanks

#2 ·
Since you are an experienced rider your choices are pretty wide open. Decide what you want to do with the horse as far a discipline and check out the breeds that best suit that choice. If I was in the market for a horse I would look into the Fresians. No reason really other than I think they are beautiful.

#4 ·
If you know what you want to be doing with your horse, as in riding-wise, you can then go from there on what breed of horse would be best suited for what you want to do.

#5 ·
Yes drafts are fantastic, not that I am being bias or anything ;)

Breed doesn't matter to much. I would be more looking for an older horse that has done it all and will be teaching you along the way. Younger horses require more work, are more stressful because they need more regular attention and can be hard on you when you run into training issues.
Check up ads for an older horse. My mare was an older mare and she was fantastic for me as a first horse. She was very patient and taught me a lot.

But then there is also drafts...

#6 ·
I'm a fan of crosses, non of this inbreeding crap. I also love drafts, so docile and so loving. I like clyde and shire crosses but my favorite draft breeds are the Irish draught and the Percheron. ID is more warmblood-y and the Percheron has some arabian blood. Of course, all breed recommendations should come with an ''individual results may vary'' :wink: