The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Trial Period?? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/trial-period-108529/)

stephk 01-06-2012 08:01 AM

Trial Period??

Please help! I have found a horse I really like but they will NOT agree to any sort of trial period. I went to see him twice and my trainer went with me and rode her also and she was perfect. My trainer does not like the fact that they are so are unwilling to bend on the trial-period thing to the point I think she will recommend walking away from the horse. Since this is my first time buying I want to know how many of you out there had a trail period before you purchased...is this common??..should I be concerned that will will not allow trial?
I am an adult novice rider and the horse will used in HUS, English pleasure and trials. Any advise/stories wold help!

iridehorses 01-06-2012 09:23 AM

I've bought and sold many horses in my life time. Personally, I would never give a trial period with any horse I have for sale. A buyer can take as much time as necessary and ride him as many times as realistic but to take the horse off my property for any period of time? NO.

Once the horse has left, I have no control how the horse will be treated, ridden, fed, etc. I've had friends who have done that and in some cases the horse came back in poor condition, or with problems that it didn't leave with.

If you want a horse that I am selling, take your time and be sure - then pay your money and take your horse.

Although it is done, it is not a common practice anywhere I've lived.

annaleah 01-06-2012 09:39 AM