The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Critique my short riding video! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/critique-my-short-riding-video-108562/)

Skyseternalangel 01-06-2012 03:18 PM

Critique my short riding video!

First off.. I AM SO EXCITED!!! I have never EVER seen myself on camera.. :oops: EVER. So this is the first time and it's so nice to have a good look at how I personally ride. :D :D :D

I know I have major faults.. as does my horse. But could you tell me what I'm doing wrong/need to fix?

He was lunged before in side reins w/t/c and the notorious "ho" and then I warmed him up for about 15 minutes before we started this video.

Ahhh stoked!!!

And if you are willing to comment on my horse too, that'd be awesome! He's a smidge above green and I'm an advanced beginner :-P The more detail and whip cracking, the better! (kidding guys, but seriously, I want to get better!)

Thank you!!!

DuffyDuck 01-06-2012 03:30 PM

Lovely to see you riding :D And clear film too!

At the 1.10 minute I can see your riding clearer, I would say more bend in your elbows, and less polishing of your seat.. keep that butt stiller ;D

You have lovely quiet hands in a sitting trot too, just try and roll those shoulders and loosen up a bit.. also try and sit a bit more 'under' yourself.. I like to think that my bum is tucked under me, so I don't bounce.

Also, for him, a bit more engagement from the hind, and a bit more activity in his front, neck and shoulders so he doesn't look like he's on your hands- lots of school figures will help with this.

At times, your outside rein is a bit 'loose' and if you want a contact, especially to get him more active behind and eventually bring him rounder and softer, it needs to be more consistent.

However, its now frozen on my laptop at 2.49 xD