The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/)
-   -   Two-point . . . which one? (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/two-point-one-10886/)

FledgeOfNarnia 07-01-2008 03:53 PM

Two-point . . . which one?

I am very new to jumping . . only have done cross-rails and some 1 or 1.5 ft verticals. But I was wondering. I have seen two different types of two-point positions. (If this has already been discussed somewhere, please just say so. I didn't take the time to look.) First, there is where one's seat is totally out of the saddle, and then there's the one where the rider's seat is just adjusted forward on the saddle. Not only did my two trainers have different "two-points" but also trainers who have written books; at least, from what I've seen.

Is it just preference?? Or is there really a right one . . or just opinion?

Any help would be great. Thanks

upnover 07-01-2008 06:48 PM

The way I've always known it... a two point is the "seat out of the saddle" position. Each leg is 1 point of contact, your butt is your 3rd point of contact. So sitting is considered a 3 point and when you lift your butt out of the saddle you only have "2 points". When you just lighten your seat it's actually called a "half seat" or sometime a "light seat", but I have heard some people mistakenly call it a 2 point.

PoptartShop 07-01-2008 09:46 PM

Well, for jumps that are like a foot/a foot & a half, you don't need to be in a 'full' two-point.
Usually you can just poke your butt outta the saddle, just a little bit. Like you're mooning the person behind you, LOL! :lol: That's how my trainer describes it.

LeighXLove 07-01-2008 10:33 PM

i agree with upnover
also being out of the saddle takes the impact off the horses back when you land depending on how high your jumping...not that they can't take it buuuut it helps