The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Basic care...? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/basic-care-10920/)

manhirwen 07-02-2008 02:08 AM

Basic care...?

I am completely new to owning a horse...

I have a month to prove that I can competently care for my horse without the help of my boarding person. So I need to learn the basics about care and what not.

I know you're thinking (Oh god not another new horse person) but I've been doing a lot of research and my horse's needs are being met so don't think I'm neglecting her!

Feeding:
I know she's estimated around 1,100 pounds or so but I will get out the measuring tape soon.
currently she's on 1/4 flake of quality timothy hay in the morning, 1 flake at night, and about a cup of beet pulp to go with her vitamins at night.

The feedings above were recommended by the person who will be evaluating my ability to care for the horse but I really need to take it the extra mile because of internal matters with the boarder.

Health care issues:

She also has some kind of issue with her front left hoof...if she's worked really hard she has some kind of lameness issue that is remedied by keeping her front feet shod so she doesn't wear them uneven. A vet has looked at it and said though he cannot find out the problem it doesn't seem to be an issue especially when she has shoes.

She's selenium deficient so I have her on horse guard w/selenium.
The grass in my area is too rich for horses to be out at pasture so till I get my grazing muzzle she's not out in the field so she doesn't founder.

Other things I know about her:

She's about 6 years old
has done ground work with a CH trainer
is at least green broke and has been ridden
is very gentle and calm with most things
listens well enough to someone who doesn't know what they're doing

:?

What I have:

halter
lead rope
Lunge line
horse guard with selenium
various brushes
hoof pick
fly spray
fly mask
bell boots