The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Plus Sized Riders (http://www.horseforum.com/plus-sized-riders/)
-   -   What's the best horse for my size and ability? (http://www.horseforum.com/plus-sized-riders/whats-best-horse-my-size-ability-109462/)

Turndial 01-14-2012 12:13 PM

What's the best horse for my size and ability?

You've probably seen this question 1000 times before but here's my problem. I'm 5'4", 78kg and do everything right to lose weight but it just never goes away! my weight is all on my bottom half (legs and bum).

I'm a confident novice rider and the last horse I had was on part-loan and was a 16.2 TB X. Had to give up due to circumstances (of the horse/owner).

I now want to venture out and buy my own horse but I don't want something that big. I want a horse/pony that I won't need to struggle to mount and I love the smaller weight carriers (cobs etc).

Any and all recommendations for what I should be looking for are greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Cinnys Whinny 01-14-2012 12:19 PM

I'd say a Quarter Horse or Morgan would probably be a good match. They ae shorter, yet very sturdy and stout breeds :)

Ans if I may say so, your weight isn't too bad, at least not as in something for a horse to carry. My horse is 15H Paint and I'm a little over 200. He has no problems with my weight at all.

Turndial 01-14-2012 12:27 PM

Thanks, I'm actually in UK (forgot to mention that!) so I Don't think I could find a QH very easy!

Cinnys Whinny 01-14-2012 12:28 PM

HMMM, that's true. I need to brush up on my UK breeds, I don't know many of them.

Golden Horse 01-14-2012 12:55 PM

Lets do the conversions:

78K = 172 pounds

Which is around 12 stone

So I'm not seeing your weight as that much of an issue, if you were a few inches taller no one would question your riding weight.

Being in the UK you have a great amount of choices, and of the bigger native ponies would work well, Highland, Fell, Welsh section D, sorry if I missed any.