The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Rider Wellness (http://www.horseforum.com/rider-wellness/)
-   -   Broken Ankle advice (http://www.horseforum.com/rider-wellness/broken-ankle-advice-109701/)

Western Paint 01-16-2012 03:59 PM

Broken Ankle advice

Hello everyone, Any information that I could get would be great. I have never had an injury before. I have been riding for 27 years (30 years old now)
I was trail riding when a horse turned and quickly backed into my mare and started kicking her while I was mounted, breaking my ankle in the process. Pretty much snapped my foot off of my leg. 5 screws to put my ankle back together and 6 weeks with a cast on and using crutches. Physio for 12 weeks. I am not able to put weight on it until the Doc gives the okay.
Just looking for any advice about getting back in the saddle, or any advice at all.
Thanks in advance

KatieQ 01-17-2012 11:03 AM

Ouch! Sorry about your accident- sounds nasty! I too have a plate w screws in my ankle, from about 3 yrs ago. First of all listen to your doctor's advice, and do your physio. When it heals it will be very stiff for a while, and you will lose some mobility, partly from lack of use. But if you do the physio and keep it moving you can regain this, but it will take a while. You may find tall boots uncomfortable because of the screws- I only wear lace-up paddock boots now. But the most important thing is the physio, definitely. Good luck!

Barry Godden 01-17-2012 11:19 AM

The Forum is not the authority on such matters, your doctor and the physiotherapist are much better qualified. The bones have to heal, as does the soft tissue binding and supporting the ankle. Xrays and massage and exercise
are the important components in the healing process.
Undoubtedly you are in for some pain - the question is just how much pain.

When you can walk without limp, when you can support the weight of your