The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Nutrition (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-nutrition/)
-   -   Feeding Alfalfa hay (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-nutrition/feeding-alfalfa-hay-110245/)

Painted Pony 01-21-2012 11:03 AM

Feeding Alfalfa hay

I Have been feeding high quality alfalfa hay to my horse since I have owned him and not untill recently have I found out that it may be bad for him. Does anyone have any opinions on this and what affects it may have on him? Thank you .

trailhorserider 01-21-2012 11:14 AM

I have been feeding high quality alfalfa hay for the past 18 years. In Arizona, it's what we feed. :-)

Really, I know alfalfa gets a bad wrap, but it's awesome hay, high in protein and calcium and easy-keeper type horses stay fat on two flakes a day.

It's not something you feed free choice because it's rich. But boy, the horses love it and they always look very healthy.

Now with my yearling I am also giving him some bermuda grass hay as filler so he always has something to much on. And it DOES have a better calcium to phosphorous ratio than alfalfa. So I think in an ideal world, about a 50/50 mix is perfect.

But I and everyone I know has fed straight alfalfa to adult horses (in limited portions such as two flakes a day) and they seem to thrive on it.

It is low in sugar too.

PS. Someone worried about the calcium to phosphorous ratio could also feed a bit of straight oats to help balance the alfalfa out. That is what my vet told me to do when my mare was pregnant to make sure she had some phosphorous.

loosie 01-23-2012 05:03 AM

Agree with trailhorse. I think it's *generally* a very good feed. I have heard that there are the odd horses that are intolerant to something in it and I think the high protein level and high energy level can be problematic for some horses - eg. I'd hesitate to feed much to an easy keeper & would not feed too much to old horses for those reasons.