The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Western Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/)
-   -   Western Horsemanship? (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/western-horsemanship-110270/)

randomrider92 01-21-2012 04:28 PM

Western Horsemanship?

Alright, so there is an open fun show being hosted at a stable not to far away in may and one of the classes is western horsemanship. I've only seen high level western horsemanship and I'm wondering what would a lower level western horsemanship look like? What would it consist of? Any details. I've never done one before and the show is in May. Thought I'd go at it for the heck of it XD

equiniphile 01-21-2012 06:41 PM

If you're more familiar with English, think 'english equitation.' Most horsemanship classes will call for a w/j/l along the ring with the rest of the class, plus the added element of a pattern. At an open show, the maneuvers in the pattern will most likely be a combination of these: Forehand turns, haunch turns, walking and jogging, loping on either lead, change of leads, sliding stop, rein-back, sidepass.

waresbear 01-21-2012 08:17 PM

Not sure of the rules in your area, but horsemanship will consist of a pattern then after all competitors have completed the pattern, they will be judged on railwork. Pattern should be posted well in advance of the class.

GotaDunQH 01-24-2012 11:56 AM

^ Yep, horsemanship is a prescribed pattern that is performed individually and it consists of walk/jog/lope transitions, stop and then a back up, straight lines with circles, arcs etc. The horsemanship (AQHA) patterns I've done have never included a sliding stop (that's reining) or a side pass. After everyone has completed the pattern, you work one way on the rail.

Google "horse show patterns" and there is a website that has a ton of HMS, SMS patterns on it. Those types of patterns are the ones you'll do at shows.

Eclipse295 02-05-2012 04:23 PM