The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Horse riding in Southend,Essex (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/horse-riding-southend-essex-110589/)

xclare 01-24-2012 12:33 PM

Horse riding in Southend,Essex

Hi All,
I am a novice rider and desperately would like to progress my horse riding.I am based in Southend-On-Sea and am struggling to find affordable riding lessons, they are roughly 27-30 for half an hours lesson which just as you start getting taught new things after the recap of the previous weeks lesson it ends very quickly.I am not looking to learn to ride for competions etc but just enjoyment and with the view of owning a horse one day so I would like to ensure I can ride preoperly and take care of my horse.I am willing to pay for the lessons however would prefer at least an hour at a time. I am currently on maternity leave and then will be going back to work september time so lessons would need to be evenings and weekends.
I do not feel I nesessarily need to use a riding school but just somebody competant with patience for a learner, however I am open to any options if it means I can learn to ride.
So if anyone oout their is willing to teach me or are an affordable riding school in my area please contactme. I drive so can travel a reasonable distance aswell
Sorry for the essay however this is a passion I have had since I was a little girl and I am desperate to persue it.Thankyou

Clare

Barry Godden 01-24-2012 02:00 PM

Clare

The problem you face is finding the schoolmaster horse which you need to each you how to ride. Most privately owned horses simply don't have the patience to teach a clumsy novice how to ride.
Secondly the rider training is a skilled art and not all riders have the ability. If you are taught incorrectly at the beginning then that bad schooling will last throughout your life.